Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My only complaint against this recipe is the same as a few prior to me - the cake lacks flavour. As far as the cake structure goes I give it 5 stars it was moist and fluffy. I am new to the baking world and I found the recipe to be easy and well worded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Made recipe exactly as stated and got a beautiful, and deliciously moist cake and cupcakes. The cakes rose beautifully also. I also made the frosting and it was so yummy. I am just sad that it won't hold up to hot temps. Beautiful and delicious cake. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassyb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
One of the best cakes of any kind I've ever had! The frosting is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very good, time consuming. Did directions as says. Did the changes people sais using oil insteac of shortning, 4 table spoones coco, I used 1/2 oz food dye and added water to paste, made my own butter milk with milk and lemon, I used rice vinager cause i didn't have regular and online they said its sweeter. Other then that it turned out amazing. As i went along I tasted the batter and it taste and smell bad. However the finished product fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This cake was moist, but boring. It had very little flavor and lacked the richness of traditional red velvet cakes. The frosting was also quite odd. The flour made it almost paste-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Amazing cake! I followed anothers suggestions about time allotments and cooling times. Turned out perfect!! And I'm going to make it again right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhusbandswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Classic red velvet cake! I tried out a couple of other recipes before making this one and it is by far the closest to what I remember my grandmother making years and years ago! Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByronTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
i've made this recipe before and when it came out of the oven, it had the same texture as playdoh which i know red velvet cake is not supposed to have. it tasted decent but it was very dry and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I think this is my first review on allrecipes, even though I've been using it for years (since it started out as all[dessert] websites). I just wanted to say that this is a great cake and you do not need to double the fats in it like most people seem to be doing. I used just the half a stick of butter (I avoid shortening) plus 1 oz of additional buttermilk and 1 oz of oil (since I didn't use the 2 oz of food coloring, to replace the lost liquid). Otherwise I followed the recipe pretty faithfully and the cake came out nice and fluffy and moist with a nice crumb and even a hint of red (from the cocoa and acid reaction). It was, however, done at an earlier time than indicated by the recipe, so check it earlier to avoid a dry cake! The frosting was interesting and my first time coming in contact with it; I had to cut the sugar down, but this is a personal taste. While maybe not traditional, I would flavor it in the future with a mixture of vanilla and almond extract. By the way, this is my first contact with RVC so I'm not a purist about it. While I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the cake, for some reason I kept wanting to eat it more and more. So for that reason, and the really lovely texture of the cake using basically the original amount of fat called for (and NOT the 1 full cup of oil suggested by most of the other reviews), 5 start. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This cake was delish!! I made it exactly as you said and it turned out moist and the frosting was to die for!! I can't wait to make another!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States