Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Bitter and salty recipe????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Holy cow...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KnitChick
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yummm! The only red velvet cake I'd made before was from a box, so I was not looking forward to making another red velvet cake when our Thanksgiving guest requested one. This cake was DIVINE! He, and everyone else, LOVES it! It's the next morning as I'm writing this and I've already had 3 slices of it. It won't last through the night ;) I followed top reviewer Kristen's suggestions and that really helped me out. The frosting definitely reminds me and my husband of cool whip, just a smidge bit more dense. I want to try a cream cheese frosting next, but this is really great as is. I will make this again and recommend the recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitChick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Did not like the frosting that much. I haven't cut the cake yet so I'll see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jazz
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this for my birthday party for the first time last night, and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I took some of the other reviewers advice and reduced the cooking time. But even baking for 20 minutes the cake was still dry. Also I think that the recipe needs to be specific as to what kind of white sugar is needed.....granulated or powdered sugar. Most icings specifically say powdered/confectioners sugar but I used granulated sugar and it did not taste like frosting at all, more like the sweetness of cool whip. So I ended up adding powdered sugar to give it more of a frosting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyToya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ogriffix
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this for my son's birthday today. I prepared the cake yesterday, and finished off today with the frosting and decorating. It is a very easy to follow recipe! Moist, great texture, & a fantastic icing recipe as well. All I can say to the people who had problems is take time time, organization is the key to cooking success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ogriffix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Had this recipe for years and recently lost the cookbook in a flood. Everyone around here thinks Red Velvet Cake should be frosted with cream cheese frosting--shudder. So very glad I found the "right" frosting recipe again. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Good solid recipe. Made it here in Brazil where the quality of ingredients can vary quite a bit and it still came out great. For what it's worth, I used a small container of Gel food coloring because it is difficult to locate 1 oz. bottles. Came out a nice bright red and good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States