Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Without question, the negative reviews for this recipe can be explained by people not being familiar with the techniques that are used. I subtracted a star because this *is* a more complicated project than a box cake mix, and additional instructions would probably have been helpful. Things that are important to know about this recipe: 1) the vinegar-baking soda mixture is what makes it rise. This is a delicate leavening method because it does not last long. Get the vinegar mixture into the batter quickly and gently and get it in the oven FAST, or you will have a heavy cake. 2) Cakes from scratch have to be timed carefully in the oven because they're not "failproof" like box mixes. Start checking it with a toothpick 10 minutes before the given time and after that every 3 to 5 minutes until the toothpick comes out mostly clean. 3) The flour paste for the frosting must be cooked until it forms a mound that stays in the middle of the pan, and it must be cooled to room temperature but never chilled. The butter and sugar must be beaten for at least 10 minutes before adding the flour paste, to eliminate sugar grit. 4) You must frost a COMPLETELY cool cake; beating warm frosting or frosting a warm cake will produce a runny, oily frosting. Follow these instructions and the recipe *will* turn out. It is a good recipe with no errors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
When making this cake, substitute shortening for 1 cup of oil and double the cocoa for a perfect cake. The cake was dry. Icing was creamy and buttery without being too sweet. The icing perfect. My 87 year old mother was here and said it was very close to the original red velvet cake recipe. Be sure to let the milk and flour cool completely before mixing with the sugar mixture for the icing. It also needs to be mixed for about 15 minutes to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
680 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
My grandmother used to make red velvet cake, and after she passed, I've made probably 5 different recipes to replicate her cake. This came the absolute closest. It's delicious, and wows the crowds every time I make it for class (I'm in college) and even the teachers are impressed. It CAN BE DRY. So make sure you check it in the oven before it's done. Pull it out right when you think it's not quite ready. Then, LET IT SIT!! It will continue cooking as it cools, just like cookies. Do not cut it or frost it before it's done cooling. You'll thank yourself when you have an amazing, moist, incredible cake. Marriage proposals from this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I bake ALL the time, and this has got to be the BEST cake I have ever baked in my life. It's better than the one my husband buys at the gourmet bakery downtown. The cake is delicious, and the icing is heavenly. I took this cake and two pies to Christmas dinner, and 7 people devoured the entire cake within 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I am puzzled by the negative reviews for this recipe. I have made this cake at least six times, all with good results. I even made it in a 9X13 pan (I had to increase the baking time of course) and made it into a "spaceship" cake for my 5 year old son who loves this cake. I have found that this cake tastes better after refrigeration for some reason. And, I have found it very important to chill the milk and flour combination for the icing - if the butter melts then the icing consistancy becomes runny. The only "modification" I make to this recipe is that I use Dutch Process Cocoa instead of the regular cocoa, it has a stronger flavor. I think this cake is better than any I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I also have this recipe, which is our all-time family favorite. It is absolutely the best cake I've ever eaten. At family reunions, everyone knows to get their piece of this cake as they go through the dinner line, or there won't be any left at dessert time! One thing I do differently is cutting the layers with a string or very sharp knife, making 4 layers. When you frost in between the layers, and leave the sides unfrosted, it is such a festive looking dessert. This is definately a "must have" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This cake turned out so good! I baked it in 2 8 inch heart shaped pans and had just a little bit of batter left. I recommend using paste food color (find at a hobby shop) bc liquid affects the flavor. Also, to those complaining about grainy frosting, mix it a little longer (I use a kitchenaid). The directions are so precise (does anyone else feel they're being scolded when reading this?) but not about how long to whip the frosting in the last step. It takes a little while. Keep beating until the frosting gets smooth. It will. Excellent flavor, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I picked this particular recipe because of the excellent reviews...and let me tell you was this cake excellent! I'm not going to lie I had never made a red velvet cake before and it came out delicious! Follow the recipe exactly and make sure not to over cook! It will cook fast. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I haven't had Red Velvet Cake since I was a child growing up in South Carolina. I may not remember exactly how it tasted back then, but I do know that this cake was incredibly moist and delicious! My parents loved it so much they took a few slices home and ate them as a midnight snack. To top it off, this cake was easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My grandma has used this recipe for as long as I can remember, and its amazing. I've never found it too dry, although red velvet cake as I know it is not a moist cake. I always watch it very carefully during baking and make sure to never over-cook it. That can definately make it dry. After the cake has cooled, I cut the two cakes in half for a total of 4 thin layeres. Also, I just frost in between the layers and not on the sides. I always pick this cake for my birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZIDOWNEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States