Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
2 Suggestions: Been making this for decades, and instead of two 1-oz. bottles of coloring, I use one bottle, then fill it up again with milk and you won't even notice the difference. (And only 2-1/4 cups flour.) Second: To very nicely frost a 9-inch three-layer, use these amounts for the icing. 6-1/3 tablespoons flour; 1-1/4 cups *each* of milk, soft butter, and sugar; and 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Just right! Oh, and the instructions on the icing are NONnegotiable (but easy), to turn out! I microwave the flour and milk in 1-min. intervals to a very thick paste whisking WELL after each, and it will thicken more when cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great directions, ty for posting this! It was a hit this Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this cake for Christmas every year for 10 years now, and it's always a huge hit! Some notes I've made over the years: *For the frosting, do not use a whisk for the flour and milk mixture. Stir it until the texture is a thick paste, like the consistency of mashed potatoes - about 10 minutes. Do let it cool completely before continuing with the frosting. *The frosting may not seem like a lot, but it is! I use some for a crumb layer and some for decorating. *This recipe makes approximately 22-24 cupcakes. For cupcakes, baking time = about 25 minutes. *For two 8" pans baking time = about 35 minutes. *For a bundt baking time = about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I got this recipe from my mother in law several years ago, way b4 the red velvet craze of the past couple of years. It is a Christmas tradtion in the whole family...and a birthday tradition now too. My kids always ask for this as their birthday cake, I just change the color to match their favorite color. Speaking for myself I make it better now then I did the first few times I made it. Yes, it requires following instructions that you are not familar with, but it's worth it and it sure beats a baked red velvet cake...which is bland and tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Turned out really well....very moist. I used paste food colouring, so I added a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My husband loves this cake. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for my daughter's 13th birthday. It was an instant hit with my family. I did double the icing recipe as recommended by others. I also made the cake on the weekend previous, sliced the layers and froze the cake, then I took it out of the freezer, prepared the icing and iced the cake the night before. She wants this again for her sleepover with some friends, but wants to try purple this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the best tasting recipe i have made... I even changed the colouring to blue for a boys cake. It looked awesome. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
this recipe is wonderful. I did some modifications such as add up 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 1/2 cup of shortening, and the result was awesome.. it's darker and more moist..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The taste was very good. I was a little disappointed that it used food coloring because I'm always looking for red velvet cakes that obtain their color from the cocoa. I had problems getting it to rise using the method described, and probably over folded it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States