Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Turned out really well....very moist. I used paste food colouring, so I added a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My husband loves this cake. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for my daughter's 13th birthday. It was an instant hit with my family. I did double the icing recipe as recommended by others. I also made the cake on the weekend previous, sliced the layers and froze the cake, then I took it out of the freezer, prepared the icing and iced the cake the night before. She wants this again for her sleepover with some friends, but wants to try purple this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the best tasting recipe i have made... I even changed the colouring to blue for a boys cake. It looked awesome. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
this recipe is wonderful. I did some modifications such as add up 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 1/2 cup of shortening, and the result was awesome.. it's darker and more moist..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The taste was very good. I was a little disappointed that it used food coloring because I'm always looking for red velvet cakes that obtain their color from the cocoa. I had problems getting it to rise using the method described, and probably over folded it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Delicious. I served this at a cook-out and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly after reading the reviews. It was not too dense and tasted great. I will make it again with some applesauce or I'll take it out just a whisker earlier - I prefer very moist cake. The frosting was unusual to me, but tasted very good. I plan to try a vanilla buttercream for comparison. Thanks for sharing this-it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made the some minor adjustments as recommended. The frosting was okay but I guess I'm more of a cream cheese frosting type of gal. The cake came out perfect. I used two bottles of the red food coloring (out of curiosity) and it cames out to a gorgeous deep red color. The cake looked like Christmas red against white frosting. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Glory Sison Crowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Sorry, I even made this twice, but it was very dry and difficult to remove from the pan even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Soo wonderful. The cake was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious! I used water and beet juice instead of food coloring- it wasn't red but everyone still enjoyed it. The frosting was absolutely amazing. So light and buttery this is going to be my go-to red velvet cake recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States