Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used butter for the shortening and gel dye. I made two batches (separately) and stacked it into 4 round layer cakes. it was wonderful, fancy and delicious! I also doubled the frosting and was sure to whip it well. It too was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Does anyone feel like this recipe is yelling at you? It's like Gordon Ramsey is in the kitchen with you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was awesome, the cake was so light and fluffy. My neighbour said I should open a bakery this cake was so good! I used the icing recipe from Red Velvet Cake II for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was my first time using food coloring when baking and BEWARE. It's pretty hard to find traditional water-based food coloring these days so I had to use gel (or icing) food coloring. I didn't think there would be much of a difference, but I was quite wrong. Food coloring in general isn't tasteless and using too much will make it noticeable, but gel has an even more intense... off-putting flavor. The cake baked very well, had a good consistency and you could tell there was deliciousness to be had, but lightly masking that was the taste of the coloring. I still give it four stars because it was my own lack of info that had it turn out the way it did, but this is a pretty difficult recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My son has always raved about red velvet cake, so he is my measure of excellence on this. I made this for valentines day and he said it was the best he's had! I found the recipe easy to follow and worth the few extra steps to achieve such a beautiful and tasty result. I did make cupcakes and I baked them for 18 minutes. I gave some out to friends everyone raved about them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is almost the exact recipe that has been part of our family holidays since 1945. we used a little less cocoa in ours. Our family cuts each cake to make 4 layers instead of 2 and the sides are not to be frosted. The frosting is very important. Please, Do Not Substitute Cream Cheese Frosting-- for this butter roux frosting. The cake tastes best if refrigerated a few hours before serving. It seems the frosting sets up better. Careful with the vinegar and soda, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
2 Suggestions: Been making this for decades, and instead of two 1-oz. bottles of coloring, I use one bottle, then fill it up again with milk and you won't even notice the difference. (And only 2-1/4 cups flour.) Second: To very nicely frost a 9-inch three-layer, use these amounts for the icing. 6-1/3 tablespoons flour; 1-1/4 cups *each* of milk, soft butter, and sugar; and 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Just right! Oh, and the instructions on the icing are NONnegotiable (but easy), to turn out! I microwave the flour and milk in 1-min. intervals to a very thick paste whisking WELL after each, and it will thicken more when cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great directions, ty for posting this! It was a hit this Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this cake for Christmas every year for 10 years now, and it's always a huge hit! Some notes I've made over the years: *For the frosting, do not use a whisk for the flour and milk mixture. Stir it until the texture is a thick paste, like the consistency of mashed potatoes - about 10 minutes. Do let it cool completely before continuing with the frosting. *The frosting may not seem like a lot, but it is! I use some for a crumb layer and some for decorating. *This recipe makes approximately 22-24 cupcakes. For cupcakes, baking time = about 25 minutes. *For two 8" pans baking time = about 35 minutes. *For a bundt baking time = about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I got this recipe from my mother in law several years ago, way b4 the red velvet craze of the past couple of years. It is a Christmas tradtion in the whole family...and a birthday tradition now too. My kids always ask for this as their birthday cake, I just change the color to match their favorite color. Speaking for myself I make it better now then I did the first few times I made it. Yes, it requires following instructions that you are not familar with, but it's worth it and it sure beats a baked red velvet cake...which is bland and tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States