Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I am the baker for a resort restaurant and am extremely familiar with the baking techniques used in this recipe. I've been getting requests for red velvet cake and decided to try this one since it had good ratings, and I will continue to look for a recipe. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and my cake just crumbled. Completely non-salvageable. I have to give the crumbles a 5 star, they were very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is the best red velvet cake recipe I have ever tried. The only "issue" was the baking soda/vinegar folding. The cake rose perfectly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri65

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have been searching for an authentic red velvet cake recipe for the longest time, and this one is the closest I've found. The cake came out SO moist, and I used one of the reviewer's suggestion to mix the baking soda and vinegar right at the end, and put it in the oven ASAP. It worked like a charm. The cake came out soft, delicious and melted in my mouth. The only alteration I made was, I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the one provided. It tastes amazing. Red velvet is my favourite kind of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! This cake and icing recipe is THE BOMB. The icing, oh my God, the icing..... It reminds me of an old fashioned cooked icing recipe like my great aunts and grandma used to make. Spectacular! It takes a little more time but it is SOOOOO worth it! I followed directions exactly, except I doubled the icing recipe so I could make sure I had a really nice thick middle filling layer and enough to convert the icing for detailed decorating. For those who are new to the art of from-scratch cake-baking, I would suggest reading some of the high rated comments to get more detailed direction. If I could rate it a 10 I would. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe today, it was the worst red velvet recipe ever! icing was too buttery, the cake turned out too hard and salty, it was just weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I've made this recipe for many functions. People always tell me this is the best cake they've ever had. The frosting is not too sweet and very different. It was even a request for a wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I have now made this recipe multiple times with slight variations (to follow), and this cake is a universal success. It never lasts more than 48 hours at my house, and is requested by family and friends alike. It has become known as "that special chocolate cake you make" (I can't get it to go red with the food colouring available where I live, so it usually comes out light brown). My teenage son's friends even ask if I've baked one when they come over. Yes, it is that good, and thank-you, Eleanor Johnson! Tips: Double the frosting (or icing or butter cream). Do not try to shorten the sugar-dissolving time by cooking it with the milk/flour step, as it will fail. Add the cooled "pudding" a tablespoon at a time, and beat, beat, beat. 1/2 cup of oil as opposed to shortening is sufficient for tenderness. I find that the full cup suggested elsewhere results in an excessively oily consistency. The shortening in the original recipe is fine too though. The vinegar/ baking soda as a leavening agent results in a uniform surface, which is really nice, as opposed to the doming from baking powder cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I tried to make the icing three times before I decided not to waste any more materials. The cake tasted bland and it was nothing special. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I 2 USED BUTTER AND MAYBE ABOUT A 1/3 CUP OF OIL. 3 TBSP OF COCOA AND USED WILTONS NO TASTE RED GEL (2 BOTTLES) TASTE WAS GREAT, BUT WAS STILL ON DRY SIDE. MY BF THOUGHT IT WAS FAB BUT I THOUGHT IT COULDA BEEN BETTER BUT IM A HUGE PERFECTIONIST WHEN BAKING. I USED CREAM CHEESE FROSTING. WILL USE ALL OIL NEXT TIME I THINK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The cake turned out perfectly!!! The frosting recipe is not right!!! I think I made it with the wrong butter or it says to put to much in. Awesome recipe but I reccomend a different one for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States