Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The cake came out dry after baking the required amount of time, and the frosting didn't come out FLUFFY! I had to add additional powdered sugar to even get it to the right consistency. I don't know what I did wrong, but I cooked the flour and milk to a 'thick' consistency. I want to find a different recipe to use in the future. One that isn't so dry and the frosting comes out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lucia Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I did not make the cake just the frosting. It was great. Make sure you mix it long enough. The flour mixture did not look tasty, but once added to the butter mixture it makes a wonderful frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't use the cake recipe, only the icing. Excellent! Didn't change a thing and would not change a thing. However, even having read the most useful comment, I still managed to under beat the sugar and butter. I didn't check before I added in the milk mixture and only realized as I started icing the cake that the sugar particles were still not dissolved. No problem, put the icing back in the stand mixer and beat it for an additional 5 minutes. It became even fluffier than before. First time making this type of frosting but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is my son's favorite birthday cake. It has very good flavor. I have to work on improving my technique. It's hit and miss but worth every bite improving how I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This cake was amazing and fluffy! I made it for my friends Sweet 16 and it was a HIT. I added butter cream roses for decoration and put a layer of marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiHelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious. 10/10 would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have made this cake many times and with great success. I do not change one thing about it, make it just as written. I was requested to make it for a fundraiser, and the people bidding on it knew about it. It raised $54.00! I was pleased and so were the ones who got to eat it. I iced it with cream cheese icing, placed fresh raspberries around the diameter and drizzled loganberry syrup around the edge to drip down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe is great. I make it exactly as written and it wows people every time. Some tips: Start checking cake at 20 minutes and take out of oven when toothpick comes out ALMOST clean. When it comes out clean it's already a tad too dry. Let your eggs and buttermilk reach room temp before starting. Once you mix you baking soda and vinegar move fast but still gently. I made with this frosting and w/cream cheese and liked it both ways. I prefer cream cheese though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This recipe was great the cake turned out moist and the icing perfect! I would definitely use this recipe again knowing how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States