Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I took some of the other reviewers advice and reduced the cooking time. But even baking for 20 minutes the cake was still dry. Also I think that the recipe needs to be specific as to what kind of white sugar is needed.....granulated or powdered sugar. Most icings specifically say powdered/confectioners sugar but I used granulated sugar and it did not taste like frosting at all, more like the sweetness of cool whip. So I ended up adding powdered sugar to give it more of a frosting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyToya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ogriffix
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this for my son's birthday today. I prepared the cake yesterday, and finished off today with the frosting and decorating. It is a very easy to follow recipe! Moist, great texture, & a fantastic icing recipe as well. All I can say to the people who had problems is take time time, organization is the key to cooking success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ogriffix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Had this recipe for years and recently lost the cookbook in a flood. Everyone around here thinks Red Velvet Cake should be frosted with cream cheese frosting--shudder. So very glad I found the "right" frosting recipe again. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Good solid recipe. Made it here in Brazil where the quality of ingredients can vary quite a bit and it still came out great. For what it's worth, I used a small container of Gel food coloring because it is difficult to locate 1 oz. bottles. Came out a nice bright red and good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this cake and it tasted great, but I found out it would have been better had I used CAKE FLOUR instead of All-Purpose flour. Also, I used almost a whole bottle (the little plastic kind) of red food coloring and it was nowhere near "4 TBSP" and the cake was definitely "red." I don't know what further benefit would have come of using the full 4 TBSP. If anyone knows, I'd love to hear it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I think I might have messed up with this cake. It was dry. I followed all of the directions and some of the reviewers suggestions trying to do everything correctly, but failed to check my cake for doneness before the 30 minutes. I took the cake out at exactly 30 minutes (was so scared that if I checked and it wasn't done - my checking would result in a fallen cake as I read about somewhere else)! Anyway, my cake was dry. :-( The flavor was good and the icing was great (had to mix 15 minutes as others stated). I think I might try again, only next time I will 1) spoon my flour into measuring cup rather than scooping as not to get too much 2) will bake 20 - 25 minutes as I think 30 was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several time with success...it is moist and flavorful. I have recently started using almond milk as a milk replacement with everything for good health and this has also worked well (using about an additional 1/4th cup). Remember, overall scratch cakes are heavier and more dense than a box cake. I think lots of people try scratch expecting a box cake result...will not happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first time trying to bake a red velvet cake from scratch at home. I followed the recipe for the cake, but decided to do a cream cheese frosting for the cake. I did not like the cake itself. It came out dry, and if it weren't for the frosting, I couldn't eat it. Plus, the taste it self was sub par. Maybe I did something wrong...I am not sure, but I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This cake was good. This was my first time cooking a cake from scratch and it turned out ok. The cake tasted great but my cake fell and it came apart when i took it out the pans to dry. The icing was ok also but I think next time I will try cream cheese. The overall appearance of my cake was not good but the taste of the cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States