Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very good, time consuming. Did directions as says. Did the changes people sais using oil insteac of shortning, 4 table spoones coco, I used 1/2 oz food dye and added water to paste, made my own butter milk with milk and lemon, I used rice vinager cause i didn't have regular and online they said its sweeter. Other then that it turned out amazing. As i went along I tasted the batter and it taste and smell bad. However the finished product fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This cake was moist, but boring. It had very little flavor and lacked the richness of traditional red velvet cakes. The frosting was also quite odd. The flour made it almost paste-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Amazing cake! I followed anothers suggestions about time allotments and cooling times. Turned out perfect!! And I'm going to make it again right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhusbandswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Classic red velvet cake! I tried out a couple of other recipes before making this one and it is by far the closest to what I remember my grandmother making years and years ago! Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByronTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
i've made this recipe before and when it came out of the oven, it had the same texture as playdoh which i know red velvet cake is not supposed to have. it tasted decent but it was very dry and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I think this is my first review on allrecipes, even though I've been using it for years (since it started out as all[dessert] websites). I just wanted to say that this is a great cake and you do not need to double the fats in it like most people seem to be doing. I used just the half a stick of butter (I avoid shortening) plus 1 oz of additional buttermilk and 1 oz of oil (since I didn't use the 2 oz of food coloring, to replace the lost liquid). Otherwise I followed the recipe pretty faithfully and the cake came out nice and fluffy and moist with a nice crumb and even a hint of red (from the cocoa and acid reaction). It was, however, done at an earlier time than indicated by the recipe, so check it earlier to avoid a dry cake! The frosting was interesting and my first time coming in contact with it; I had to cut the sugar down, but this is a personal taste. While maybe not traditional, I would flavor it in the future with a mixture of vanilla and almond extract. By the way, this is my first contact with RVC so I'm not a purist about it. While I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the cake, for some reason I kept wanting to eat it more and more. So for that reason, and the really lovely texture of the cake using basically the original amount of fat called for (and NOT the 1 full cup of oil suggested by most of the other reviews), 5 start. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This cake was delish!! I made it exactly as you said and it turned out moist and the frosting was to die for!! I can't wait to make another!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tra72
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this cake. I think it most definitely needs to be tweaked. I think it called for way too much food coloring, and too little cocoa. And making a paste out of the two I felt was an unneeded step. As it turned out, my box of food coloring came with two blue dyes, no red, so I used both blues trying to get close to 4 tbls, not even close. So, it turned into a Black Velvet Cake haha. It was also on the dry side. Not a terrible cake, but I won't be making it again. And I used my own cream cheese frosting instead of what the recipe called for, and it's the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tra72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just made this cake it was so simple & easy cut & layered nicely & the crumbs were great so can't wait for desert tonight !! P.S looks great as well real eye candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I've tried several Red Velvet Cake recipes on AR and this is without a doubt the best one, but it still isn't quite worthy of five stars- so close, though! The taste is spot-on which is where every other recipe on here lacks. The consistency is what is off. The cake crumbled and wasn't dense. I even added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I will definitely make this again and play around with the ingredients to achieve the right texture. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States