Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This Red Velvet cake was definitely not what I expected. It could be that I have no experience with Red Velvet cake, but with this recipe the cake was much to heavy. The Icing was bland and honestly tasted like flour. Overall the cake was nothing special. However, I am willing to try it again just to make sure it was not my own fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eadillehay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Didn't work for me - wasn't really red and nothing exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
My cake came out with a strong baking soda flavor. It was inedible. However I am going to give this recipe 4 stars, because I'm pretty sure that it was more my fault than the recipe. The whole baking soda/vinegar thing I didn't really understand. I would say this is definitely not a cake for beginners. Or at least try baking it once before you make your real cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was pretty dry. The frosting was also very sweet, i would have preferred a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake for my husband's/best friend's joint birthday party. It was moist and delicious. The icing was good, but for some reason the flour paste left the icing with tiny little lumps in it. I'm not sure what I did wrong (and as it was my first attempt, I'm sure it was my error), but I still loved this. Will definitely make this again! (And again, and again....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is the best recipe that I have found with a few changes. I did follow the reviews and used 1 cup of vegetable oil and 2 cups of sugar. The cake was very moist and delicious. Next time I will use maybe 3 tablespoons of cocoa for more flavor. I didn't love the frosting, although is was good, I just prefer cream cheese icing with red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I am not sure what everyone is complaining about. I made this cake without even reading the reviews. I just did what the recipe called for. ** i did not frosting from this recipe i used a cream cheese butter cream. But either way....the cake was light and fluffy. You must be careful not to over bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness {Doces Americano}

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This cake was a lot of work, but well worth it. It's so good and so rich! Don't be shy with the food coloring. The more you use, the deeper the red. I use 1 stick of butter, instead of shortening. I also use 1/2 stick cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
dry, but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Just reviewing the icing at this time -- oh MAN it's GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessCulp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States