Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Tra72
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this cake. I think it most definitely needs to be tweaked. I think it called for way too much food coloring, and too little cocoa. And making a paste out of the two I felt was an unneeded step. As it turned out, my box of food coloring came with two blue dyes, no red, so I used both blues trying to get close to 4 tbls, not even close. So, it turned into a Black Velvet Cake haha. It was also on the dry side. Not a terrible cake, but I won't be making it again. And I used my own cream cheese frosting instead of what the recipe called for, and it's the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tra72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just made this cake it was so simple & easy cut & layered nicely & the crumbs were great so can't wait for desert tonight !! P.S looks great as well real eye candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I've tried several Red Velvet Cake recipes on AR and this is without a doubt the best one, but it still isn't quite worthy of five stars- so close, though! The taste is spot-on which is where every other recipe on here lacks. The consistency is what is off. The cake crumbled and wasn't dense. I even added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I will definitely make this again and play around with the ingredients to achieve the right texture. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made cupcakes for my daughters birthday and everyone loved it. I had looked at several recipes some called for 1c. and some called for 1/2 c. shorting so I split the difference and used 3/4c. I also only used 2oz red food coloring(no flavor red from wilton) and it was plenty red. I baked them for abt. 20 min. I am not an expierenced baker. I have done this recipe 2 times the first time they sank in the middle but were still moist and delicious, the second time they rose properly but I believe I over mixed once i added the flour. They were a little crumbly but delicious. I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This cake is very moist and delicious. I used (3) 8" pans. I did not add shortening and I only added 1tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vinegar. Also, I used a can of beet juice instead of red food coloring (it's not as red but it was cheaper and is better for you) I made a cream cheese icing which I do NOT enjoy with this cake I wish I would have made the one the recipe called for. Baked for 45-49 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
It's a good cake. I liked the taste. However, I could not even pick the cake back up to put it on my cake safe. It obviously needed more liquid, and honestly, I do not recommend this recipe whatsoever. Made my kitchen a mess, and made me mad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I HAVE TRIED TO BAKE THIS. BUT I AM NOT TO HAPPY WITH THE WAY IT TURNED OUT :-( I HAVE USED SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWS SUGGESTION AND THE TASTE WAS GREAT THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAKE STARTS TO BURN AROUND THE EDGES AND THEN THE MIDDLE WAS NOT COOKED. BUT THE OUTER PARTS WERE GETTING OVER COOK. I EVEN LOWERED TEMPERATURE BUT THEN WHEN I WAS CHECKING WITH THE TOOTHPICK THE MIDDLE OF THE CAKE SUNK IN... DISAPPOINTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made cupcakes with this recipe and I have to say that intially I was very worried because the batter was SO thick, I thought there was no way they would turn out. So while they were baking I sat here and read ALL the reviews (only 1 other mentioned the thickness of batter) waiting nervously and here is what I think: The texture of this cake is probably the best I have ever baked. It was fluffy and moist like you would expect a cake to be. So I was very excited about that, but the taste I was not so excited about... I still rated this cake high because I loved how nice it turned out the color was very nice also..I think next time I will increase the amount of sugar and cocoa I put in and maybe decrease the salt and flour just a little bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've been making this for a while now and everyone always LOVES it. I don't use the frosting here but i keep the cake recipe exact. This past time however I was in a pinch and didn't have shortening so I decided to use the oil substitution listed here in the reviews. It came out horrible. It tasted like a straight oil cake with a terrible slick aftertaste. There was no way I was going to give this to someone. I had to make the cake all over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe for red velvet cake is absolutely PERFECT! I had my own recipe for red velvet cake however, was devastated that I lost it over the years. So I perused this website and reviewed every single red velvet cake recipe for one that came close to the one I had. This one was chosen above all the others - and I, my family (especially my son since this was made for his birthday), and guests were COMPLETELY & CONTENTLY SATISFIED with the outcome of this recipe for incredibly moist delicious cake!!! I followed the directions for the cake exactly (I used a whipped cream frosting recipe from this site instead - because I prefer a lighter frosting) Definitely CHOOSE THIS RECIPE if you are looking for the perfect red velvet cake. You will not be disappointed. YUM!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States