Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've been making this for a while now and everyone always LOVES it. I don't use the frosting here but i keep the cake recipe exact. This past time however I was in a pinch and didn't have shortening so I decided to use the oil substitution listed here in the reviews. It came out horrible. It tasted like a straight oil cake with a terrible slick aftertaste. There was no way I was going to give this to someone. I had to make the cake all over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe for red velvet cake is absolutely PERFECT! I had my own recipe for red velvet cake however, was devastated that I lost it over the years. So I perused this website and reviewed every single red velvet cake recipe for one that came close to the one I had. This one was chosen above all the others - and I, my family (especially my son since this was made for his birthday), and guests were COMPLETELY & CONTENTLY SATISFIED with the outcome of this recipe for incredibly moist delicious cake!!! I followed the directions for the cake exactly (I used a whipped cream frosting recipe from this site instead - because I prefer a lighter frosting) Definitely CHOOSE THIS RECIPE if you are looking for the perfect red velvet cake. You will not be disappointed. YUM!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe is great! I substituted the shortening for oil and very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made this last night for my roommate's birthday and it was a big hit. Everyone raved about it all night and it was even better for breakfast the next day ;) Definitely a winner and the very first recipe I have ever saved to my recipe box. Will be making this again for the next birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E C Kelly
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This cake was a HUGE success for Valentine's Day. I am so glad I tried it. I did use 1 cup oil instead of shortening in the cake (because I didn't have shortening), and I doubled the cocoa powder to 4 T as others have suggested. I also used "no taste red" gel food coloring, (about 1 tsp.) and it worked just fine. The cake turned out moist and soft with just the right amount of flavor and color. The best part, however, was the icing! Be patient, cook the flour/milk slowly, whisking regularly, until it's the consistency of yogurt. You must cook it long enough to get rid of the flour taste. And make sure it is completely cooled before adding it to the butter/sugar (whisk it occasionally as it is cooling to prevent a crusty layer on top). Your patience will be rewarded! I doubled the recipe here to frost a 9" layer cake with thick icing, which was perfect. My family declared it their new "favorite frosting," and my son has already requested it for his birthday (9 months from now!) Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamie
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I followed recipe to a T. First time ever making a cake from scratch!!! This one was not to bad,maybe a little too much flour. In certain bites I almost taste flour, maybe my fault. Would have loved some cream cheese in my icing.Almost tasted like a whipped topping.The cake is very moist. I will make this cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I personally do not like red velvet cake but every year my son's best friend request that I make him one. I can honestly say that this is the perfect recipe! Not only did my son's friend love it but my boyfriend devoured the one that I made for him. I even made one to take to a friend's house for a gathering and received rave reviews. This cake came out perfect, it was moist, the perfect shade of red, not too heavy and the consistency was just right. I may not care for the cake myself but I will definitly be using this recipe when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
First time I have made a red velvet cake from scratch. Read a good many of the reviews and choose to try this one. Kristen's helpful comments were followed exactly and I think that helped to make this cake a success. My only comment was it was very hard to tell when the cake was "almost done" I think poking it with a toothpick made one 9" cake pan to deflate a bit in the middle. I cooked the full 30 minutes and it was very moist. I didn't split the layers.. icing middle layer and on top and sides and I just had enough. Icing is a good buttery taste and quite different and fun to make. I will use icing recipe again. I served this at a bridge party and everyone gave it rave reviews. Makes a very pretty presentation on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The cake looked beautiful and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I found it to be dry, although it had a nice flavor. I picked this recipe because it seemed to have less butter/shortening than most of the other red velvet cakes I looked at, but next time I will go with a red velvet cake that seems to promise a much more rich and moist end result. I paired this cake with the white chocolate cream cheese frosting that came with another red velvet cake and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
great red velvet cake very moist! i cant have store bought red velvet now it doesn't compare to this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie9427

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States