Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
i've made this recipe before and when it came out of the oven, it had the same texture as playdoh which i know red velvet cake is not supposed to have. it tasted decent but it was very dry and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I think this is my first review on allrecipes, even though I've been using it for years (since it started out as all[dessert] websites). I just wanted to say that this is a great cake and you do not need to double the fats in it like most people seem to be doing. I used just the half a stick of butter (I avoid shortening) plus 1 oz of additional buttermilk and 1 oz of oil (since I didn't use the 2 oz of food coloring, to replace the lost liquid). Otherwise I followed the recipe pretty faithfully and the cake came out nice and fluffy and moist with a nice crumb and even a hint of red (from the cocoa and acid reaction). It was, however, done at an earlier time than indicated by the recipe, so check it earlier to avoid a dry cake! The frosting was interesting and my first time coming in contact with it; I had to cut the sugar down, but this is a personal taste. While maybe not traditional, I would flavor it in the future with a mixture of vanilla and almond extract. By the way, this is my first contact with RVC so I'm not a purist about it. While I wasn't thoroughly impressed with the cake, for some reason I kept wanting to eat it more and more. So for that reason, and the really lovely texture of the cake using basically the original amount of fat called for (and NOT the 1 full cup of oil suggested by most of the other reviews), 5 start. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This cake was delish!! I made it exactly as you said and it turned out moist and the frosting was to die for!! I can't wait to make another!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tra72
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with this cake. I think it most definitely needs to be tweaked. I think it called for way too much food coloring, and too little cocoa. And making a paste out of the two I felt was an unneeded step. As it turned out, my box of food coloring came with two blue dyes, no red, so I used both blues trying to get close to 4 tbls, not even close. So, it turned into a Black Velvet Cake haha. It was also on the dry side. Not a terrible cake, but I won't be making it again. And I used my own cream cheese frosting instead of what the recipe called for, and it's the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tra72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just made this cake it was so simple & easy cut & layered nicely & the crumbs were great so can't wait for desert tonight !! P.S looks great as well real eye candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I've tried several Red Velvet Cake recipes on AR and this is without a doubt the best one, but it still isn't quite worthy of five stars- so close, though! The taste is spot-on which is where every other recipe on here lacks. The consistency is what is off. The cake crumbled and wasn't dense. I even added 1/4 cup of sour cream. I will definitely make this again and play around with the ingredients to achieve the right texture. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe. I made cupcakes for my daughters birthday and everyone loved it. I had looked at several recipes some called for 1c. and some called for 1/2 c. shorting so I split the difference and used 3/4c. I also only used 2oz red food coloring(no flavor red from wilton) and it was plenty red. I baked them for abt. 20 min. I am not an expierenced baker. I have done this recipe 2 times the first time they sank in the middle but were still moist and delicious, the second time they rose properly but I believe I over mixed once i added the flour. They were a little crumbly but delicious. I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This cake is very moist and delicious. I used (3) 8" pans. I did not add shortening and I only added 1tsp baking soda, 1 tsp vinegar. Also, I used a can of beet juice instead of red food coloring (it's not as red but it was cheaper and is better for you) I made a cream cheese icing which I do NOT enjoy with this cake I wish I would have made the one the recipe called for. Baked for 45-49 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
It's a good cake. I liked the taste. However, I could not even pick the cake back up to put it on my cake safe. It obviously needed more liquid, and honestly, I do not recommend this recipe whatsoever. Made my kitchen a mess, and made me mad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I HAVE TRIED TO BAKE THIS. BUT I AM NOT TO HAPPY WITH THE WAY IT TURNED OUT :-( I HAVE USED SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWS SUGGESTION AND THE TASTE WAS GREAT THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAKE STARTS TO BURN AROUND THE EDGES AND THEN THE MIDDLE WAS NOT COOKED. BUT THE OUTER PARTS WERE GETTING OVER COOK. I EVEN LOWERED TEMPERATURE BUT THEN WHEN I WAS CHECKING WITH THE TOOTHPICK THE MIDDLE OF THE CAKE SUNK IN... DISAPPOINTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States