Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Have never had red velvet cake before, so I have nothing to compare it to but it tasted fantastic!!! Very moist and flavourful. Like many others, I doubled the cocoa and used canola oil instead of shortening. Couldn't find round pans so had to use a rectangular, took 10 extra minutes to cook. Wonderful cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This cake was a lot more complicated than I originally thought it would be. I did make a few mistakes, which is probably why I was a bit disappointed. However, the cake just didn't have the flavor I was expecting. It was moist, and sweet, but it wasn't what I thought red velvet cake should be. And to be honest, the frosting I used was really what sold me on the cake. I think I'll try a different recipe next time, but I did like the cake, and my family enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Turned out great! Beautiful bright color. Moist cake with a creamy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Definitely swap the shortening with a neutral oil like canola. Keeps it moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great cake! I used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and even used the extra help tips provided by Kristin. The cake was not moist at all. I would not used this recipe again for that reason as well as tedious in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Awesome - One day I decided to make a red velvet cake for a friends birthday. It was a hit. For newbies - make sure you read Kristen's helpful hints on her review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The reviews for this cake made me think I would make a winner. I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was so dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
First time I've ever made a red velvet cake & it was delicious! Since it's my friend's favorite cake & she came in from California tonight, I wanted to make it for her. She said it was just like hers that she makes every Christmas & she loved it. We ALL loved it! I used the original recipe with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Was the best cake I have ever made , live in Little New zealand and i couldnt find a good red velvet cake recipe here but this one was fantastic although i used the suggested changes with the 1 cup oil and double the amount of cocoa , cake was moist spungy sweet and perfect would recommend to anyone and everyone! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States