Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Sorry, I even made this twice, but it was very dry and difficult to remove from the pan even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Soo wonderful. The cake was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious! I used water and beet juice instead of food coloring- it wasn't red but everyone still enjoyed it. The frosting was absolutely amazing. So light and buttery this is going to be my go-to red velvet cake recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
ive had much better cakes that took half of this much effort...good but nothing wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Thank you to everyone who posted their additions and changes to this recipe. I read reviews on each red velvet cake recipe stuck with this one. I actually used 1 cup of veg oil and used 3 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa. I did check the cake every three minutes for the last 10 minutes. The middle of the cake still wasn't done all the way, so next time I will leave it in a little longer. The cake was very moist and oohhh so yummy. I love to bake and for my very first time making this, it was beyond good. Can't wait for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This cake is AWESOME! I had never made red velvet from scratch before and it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a big fan of cakes but this rocked his world. The icing sounded like too much work so I used Cream cheese frosting II instead and served it after a few hours in the fridge. Before serving I added shaved white chocolate and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made a few red velvet cakes before from allrecipes.com, and all of them works. but not this one: it came out is soggy and didnt hold together and crumbs so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
a Great cake not that well known in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did not like the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaufresBrules
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is definitely one of the best cakes I've ever tasted! I made this for my Russian class at school and although there were only 8 of us, the cake was almost gone by the end of class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaufresBrules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This cake was great; I would just make sure to make three layers, not two. The rise is wonderful, but it domes more in two pans, and trimming wastes cake. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States