Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This recipe is good- even though I didn't alternate between the buttermilk and flour when adding. It tasted moist and when I doubled the recipe I got 2 10 inch round pans which was good. I recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
It was difficult to get right and you need to follow things correctly I made a huge mess of the cake when I tried to put it on the cooling rack, yet it still tasted awesome. Such good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This recipe is amazing! My family and friends loved the cake:) it's now my default red velvet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
It was already 60 mins and I took it out. Inserted a cake tester and a goo cake out sticking to the pin. I threw it back to the oven and my God it came out well! it just needed a longer baking time (my oven). It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I tried this recepie as red velvet is my granddaughters favorite. It was delicious! However, it came a little dry. Not sure what I did? I still gave 5 stars because my cake rose and did not fall! Icing was by far the best home made I ever made. So worth the extra effort. The freshness was appreciated by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
It was a bit dry, and crumbled a lot, but that could have been baker error. The frosting was delicious and easy; I'll definitely make it again, for different cakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great. It is some work but the comments of the other cooks helped. I will reiterate the most important ones. Don't overcook the cake, if in doubt, take it out. The flour and milk must be heated to at least 185 degrees but it doesn't hurt to bring it to a simmer and, if you don't want a flour taste, it should be cooked for 20 minutes. Everything absolutely needs to be at room temperature before the icing is made and the cake iced. I used organic sugar and Irish butter and the icing was a little grainy and yellow. OK since I was making green velvet cake but I would recommend white superfine sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best cake ever! It was moist and a combination of moist and dense. The only thing I would change is to bake it for 20 minutes not 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I've just made this cake for Valentine's Day. I did struggle with the icing which hasn't turned out as I had hoped. I let the flour-milk combo cool thoroughly, but my icing tastes like plastic and isn't stiff and fluffy. I added some powdered sugar to stiffen it but it still has that look of butter separating. I've popped it in the fridge to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is an excellent and easy cake to bake. You have to be careful to FOLD in the soda and vinegar. The only concern I have is how long to cook the milk and flour for the frosting: til it's as thick as mayonnaise? as thick as peanut butter? as thick as fudge? I do it by guess and by golly and it works, but it would be good to know a specific thickness. A good substitute for buttermilk: 1 tablespoon of white vinegar into a one cup liquid measure. Add milk to the one cup line. Wait for five minutes. And with that little substitution I have everything I need without special trips to the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States