Red Velvet Cake with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
i found it to be somewhat dry and rubbery around the edges. also too flat. the frosting was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this cake 2 times this week. The first time did not turn out very good. I did not have pudding so I added extra cocoa.BIG MISTAKE, it was very dry, then as an afterthought maybe I could have used some mayonaisse to make it moist. second time was MUCH better. I followed the recipe for the cake to the T. and it came out perfect. not as red as I thought a red velvet cake should have been. Next time I will try paste or gel color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Awesome recipe. First time making a red velvet cake and will keep this recipe for years to come! Be sure to use cake flour if at all possible - you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blountsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday cake, he specifically requested a Red Velvet cake with a Mario Bros. theme so that's what we did! I didn't have buttermilk so I made some sour milk (1 Tbsp. vinegar and the remaining amount of 1 cup filled with regular milk, stirred together and let it sour and thicken for a few minutes) and that worked just fine. I also didn't have regular chocolate pudding mix, but I did have the no sugar added instant pudding mix and used it. It worked out great for me. I doubled the vanilla, used HEAPING tablespoons of cocoa powder, used parchment paper on the bottom of the pans in addition to the grease and flour on the sides, used little jar of gel type food coloring instead of the liquid, cooked it for only about 25 minutes at 335 degrees and used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. All together it came out WONDERFULLY! Everyone LOVED it and even one of the people that didn't like red velvet cake commented on how good it was! I tried making 2 different red velvet recipes to have a dense layer for the bottom and lighter top layers, but the other recipe was a flop so I had to make a second batch of this recipe and both times it came out great. This is getting added to my "Tried, Tested and Great" recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat D ~ Dreamkat29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent and easy red velvet recipe - I had to go with what I had on hand, so I had to use sifted all purpose flour instead of cake flour (you can also use some cornstarch in all purpose as substitute, but I didn't have any of that either). Used only 1 oz food coloring. As a sub for buttermilk I used 1 cup regular milk mixed w/ 1 tablespoon white vinegar (usually you would use 1 T vinegar w/ enough milk to make a cup, but with cutting out some food coloring I did it this way). I also used nearly 3 tablespoons cocoa. Since I was baking in dark, non-stick pans I reduced oven temp to 340 and they were perfect in 27 minutes. For frosting I stuck with a cream cheese - 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1-3/4 cups confect. sugar - it was perfect - not too sweet! Even with all my subs this is a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The cake was moist and tasted amazing. The only issue I had was the cake was really dense. I have never made red velvet cake before so maybe this is how it was suppose to be. I can't judge the icing as I used another one from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Only 4 stars because I used a different frosting instead of the one in the recipe. The cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I had a velvet cake recipe years ago that I truly loved. I lost it and could never find another just like it.This cake is amazing!. I used 2-8inch pans because red velvet cake does not rise very much.I also had to increase my baking time,but DO NOT overbake. But again, it was fantastic.I just returned from a cook out and it was "the hit".so very moist. I used another recipe for the frosting though. I use a "smooth buttercream" recipe. I am making another tomorrow.Thank you so much for sharing. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I am giving this only two stars because the buttercream frosting is decidedly lacking - it is overly sweet and leaves a waxy aftertaste on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
it tasted fine, but lacked flavour and tasted more like a chocolate pudding cake then the fluffy sweetness one expects from a red velvet cake. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States