Red Velvet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I just made this cake on a whim. I liked the list of ingredients cause they're easy to find around the house! Although this was more of a red velvet pound cake. If I were to make it again I would probably use more cocoa powder and more baking powder. That way it rises more ( becoming more moist) and chocolatier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha Gutierrez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My daughter took this cake to a birthday party. She said it was so good that they were still talking about it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
It was awsome! Cooks will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a good recipe, but took time. The recipe prepares a LOT of batter, so I had enough to make 24 cupcakes and a thin 9x13 sheet cake I then cut into heart shapes to top half my cupcakes (12 hearts). It is pretty dense, but definitely tastes like red velvet. Also, I wasn't able to get a bright red color, and that was after 15 drops of food coloring. Deep deep red/brown. Overall, I would make it again, but only for a home gathering- not to show off at a party of something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I love this cake and its fairly easy to prepare. It's the consistency of a pound cake verses a traditional Red Velvet, but I love pound cakes, so I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
If you don't like the taste of heaven then don't make this cake. This is only the second cake I have ever made and I have to say it was sooo good. I made it for my fiances birthday and he and his family loved it. One small peice is very filling and satisfying. It just melts in your mouth. I tried a little from the middle before I put frosting on it and I didn't even want to put frosting on it because the cake itself was so good (and I'm not usually a big fan of cake) So I would recomend this to anyone. Its like a cake brownie! And it would feed 14 people it's so dense. Very good! This will will be my go to cake for sure! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I baked my cake on 2 8-inch cake pans for an hour. I think I over-baked the cakes I bit too long because of how they looked when I took them out of the oven. The taste is yummy... the cakes are a bit dense and I love it this way especially when the cakes will be covered in fondant!! Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy loves to cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Way to much red food coloring. It had a chemical taste. To dense, it was like a ton of bricks and had a flour taste as well. And 5 Eggs...OMG. I have to find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very good! Dense -- consistency of a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States