Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this was my first attempt at a red velvet cake and i as many others have stated followed this recipe to the t and had no problems what so ever. i will the next time use 2 oz of red food color as i want the deepest of red velvet cakes! i haven't tasted the cake yet as i am taking the advice of my dear review freinds who have helped me immeasurably thru the years and will be refrigerating it for a day b-4 decorating and doing the same with the icing recipe which i also followed exactly and refrigerated. the cake texture was perfect as for baking and they fell out of the pans!! as far as i can see for now these layers appear perfect and i will add to this review 2nite when i finish my valentine creation for my employees!! 2/10/09 well i finished this cake last night and it was worth waiting to finish as it was very easy to work with cold. the cake was perfect in every way and i'm not sure why others had problems? the cake was dense and delicious with just a hint of chocolate flavor. my ignorance of red velvet cakes may come into play here but i as well as those who shared this creation with me enjoyed this cake very much! my friends and employees like myself are not shy, they would have not hesitated to give a discerning review!! the icing is to die for although it is soft and not so easy for use in decorating unless maybe a small amount of confectioners sugar were to be added to stiffen it up but i wouldn't ruin the taste. one of the nice things with this icing is that it doe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
EXCELLENT!! My family and neighbors loved it. moist, flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachcrazy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Loved it! Love the white chocolate added to it instead of just the cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the best red velvet cake I haave ever made!! Everyone raved about the frosting. I have had several request for this cake since I first made it which was Thanksgiving and again at Christmas. At that time the cake didn't last through the night everybody kept going back for more. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I baked this cake for a birthday and it was dry and had the texture of a pound cake. I would not recommend this recipe as the cake is not moist. This was given a grade by some of the guest and they were not impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
If you are from south and expecting a red velvet cake like the kind your mama made, this ain't it. Too, too dry. Nice try though, still a tasty cake for those who don't know any better. Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare Quilty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This cake was simply perfect though. Nice and moist and high. The frosting was the perfect compliment. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I was nervous to make this as I am not a cake baker, but I followed the advice of past reviews and did 5 eggs and 1 egg white, then 4 TBL cocoa powder instead of just 3. I baked it in 2 large 9" pans for 35 min. I also used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe which made a LOT of frosting. I decorated my cake with a cocoa powder snowflake and green and red M&M's around the edge. It looked and tasted SO good I could have danced in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The cake was great. My first clue was a cup of butter for the icing. Will make the cake again,but will find different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made the cake last Friday Dec. 5 at 10:30pm, by 12:30 am my family and I were indulging in one the best tasting cakes I have ever made. I enjoyed the recipe so much, I can't wait to make it for two more hoilday events I am attending. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States