Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Great recipe, I saw some people said it was dry so I doubled the frosting and made sure there was enough between the layers. It got rave reviews. It was even moister the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I made cup-cakes with this recipe, and they were delicious. The cake was moist, and the frosting a perfect match. Frosting Tips: 1. It is VERY sweet -- I loved it, but you may want to go easy on the frosting or use a different frosting recipe for it if you don't have a big sweet tooth. 2. It will be very soft at first - give it some time to rest in the fridge. (Not too long; it will harden) 3. This is plenty of frosting for a 3-layer cake, too much for cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
The cake itself is way too sweet! The frosting is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I have made this countless times for co workers and family, it is my staple cake recipe. The white chocolate icing is devine (use Lindt chocolate) you could smear that on anything and it will taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
what did I do wrong ?! ... first the good news, when finished the cake looked and tasted excellent ... however til then, the most most pain the .... cake I ever did, so thinking I did something wrong , cake didnt rise, but somehow managed to spill over ... all stuck to pans .... when cooled all 3 layers had massive craters in center ..... edges were crusty .... but managed to salvage cake , using lots of extra frosting, LOL ... but as said, when all done, it was excellent ..... I did do 2 substitutions, used raspberry vinegarette instead of reg vinegar ..... and added powdered sugar to frosting . .... why the numerous issues?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Red Velvet cake IS NOT chocolate cake! Adding too muich cocoa would make it impossible to see the red color! Red Velvet is only supposed to have ahint of chocolate flavor. Also, cocoa driies it out. And yes, too many eggs for this recipe. Also, oil should be used - not butter. It's the buttermilk that gives Red Velvet it's distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
love it. my family and friends enjoyed it a lot. the cake is so moist. the creme cheese icing was awesome. i even added food coloring while i was making the icing. everyone loved it. red velvet with pink icing. they thought it was strawberry icing. everyone said it was good strawberry icing. hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeneric71504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made a double batch of this for a friend's get well party and made a two-layer rectangular cake out of it. A single of the frosting was actually enough to frost both cakes. The flavor was exquisite, and the texture was just wonderful. The frosting was a hit too. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
To those who think a red velvet cake is a chocolate cake has not had a real red velvet cake. The coccoa is only in there to make the cake a darker red. If you want a chocolate cake than make a chocolate cake. I do agree that it has way too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was my first time for making red velvet cake. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder as some previous reviewers suggested. I made cupcakes and adjusted baking time accordingly and they turned out perfect in flavor, density, and texture. I gave only 4 stars because I didn't use the icing called for so I can't comment, instead I used a simple but wonderful cream cheese icing recipe found on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle1clb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States