Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is like the best cake ever, or at lest the frosting, though fairly basic it is incredible! The cake it self is so so, It was used to make a wedding cake and there was a big issue with the middle of the cake sinking, but combined with the frosting it's a master piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I have made many red velvet cakes and decided to try a differnet recipe (why??) this was not good, it makes 3 HUGE layers and the frosting would not stay on the cake...had to add powdered sugar, very disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a favorite in our house - my daughter requests it every birthday. The white chocolate frosting is fantastic. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
For the icing... I made a different RV recipe for cupcakes and used the white chocolate icing. Like someone else said make sure all your ingredients are @ room temp before you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Two attempts were a bust. This did not rise, was not even close to being fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was a wonderful cake recipe. I have made it two years in a row for my daughter in law's birthday and she loves it. However I did make one change that really makes it a lot better. I put only half a cup of butter in the frosting. Cream together the cream cheese and add the luke warm melted chocolate and then cream in the butter. Frost the cake and then put it in the refrigerator till the frosting is firm. After that you can let it set out and the frosting stays put.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME MAKING A RED VELVET CAKE IV HOME MADE, MY MOTHER-IN-LAW SHOW ME HOW TO BAKE CAKE HOMEMADE STILL... AND I'M JUST LOVING IT! THIS WAS ONE OF MY BEST CAKE EVERY! THANKS FOR SHARING PAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRena Dorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Overall good recipe but the colour was not ad red as would have Liked and the bake time was not enough next time will bake for at least 5 extra minutes. Frosting was yummy and very good consistency . Would make again with miner tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was my first time eating Red Velvet Cake so I have nothing to compare it too but it was fantastic and I got rave reviews. I made this as a birthday cake for my boyfriend. Second round I adjusted the cooking time and made cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
WOW ~ EVERYONE loved this one - it took a little time - but to worth it I made it for a birthday cake and it was superior to any other red velvet cake I have ever made & I have made quite a few! Take your time with this one and make sure that you have time for everything to mix - you will be very glad that you did! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondadotson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cayce, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States