Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The best red velvet cake recipe I've made so far. My three toddlers are its biggest fan. They can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Very dense, but tasty, pretty cake. I added 2 additional Tbs of cocoa. Delicious frosting. Not exactly what I was looking for in a red velvet cake. Next time will look for a recipe with a more traditional texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a really wonderful cake recipe and is so good my daughter asks for it every year on her birthday. I did make a change. Decrease the butter in the frosting to 1/2 cup and chill after frosting it comes out great. I also put in 6 tbsp of cocoa and the chocolate flavor comes through better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Ingredient amounts are way off. You can't make a red velvet cake without 2 ounces of food coloring. There are too many eggs, and too much flour and sugar for the amount of red food coloring. This cake needs to be vibrant. For the amount of eggs, flour and sugar, I'd use at least four ounces of food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
As a baker, I have tried several versions of red velvet. While this one was a little too sweet for my taste, our guests LOVED it, claiming it was the BEST CAKE THEY HAVE EVER HAD!!! And, that is saying something. I followed the recipe precisely, allowing all of my ingredients to reach room temperature first and first sifting A/P bakers flour. There was nothing "dry" about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
this was my first time making a red velvet cake and it turned out GREAT! making it was a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emluvstobake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
this cake was flat and did not turn out good at all, i was extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Wonderful cake "as-is". I did not add any food coloring. We are generally trying to avoid artificial ingredients - why intentionally add this to a perfectly good home-made cake? Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This frosting just might be the best cream cheese frosting ever! I went with a different Red Velvet cake recipe but this frosting is to DIE FOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States