Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
If you are looking at the picture attached to this recipe and are imaging a fluffy, tasty, and moist red velvet cake, what this recipe will give you is a funky cake -kinda bland in flavor and totally bland in character. What I got was not reminiscent of a red velvet cake in any sense. The frosting was nice so you can probably piece that part of the recipe onto a better red velvet cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Cake was ok, not spectacular. Frosting was not good. I might try the cake again but definately NOT the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKSHIJAY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Great recipe! Used this to make a friend's wedding cake and got amazing reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWISSMISS10
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and my cake turned out GREAT! I had a football mold that I used, so it took a lot longer to bake obviously, so I checked it often. I used a different icing recipe from this site. The cake was SUPER moist and d-lish! Everyone at the party LOVED it. I made is on Tuesday, iced it on Weds and ate it on Thursday and it was great! The mold I have is for 10 cups, and this amount was perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
A red velvet cake is NOT a chocolate cake! It is, in fact, a buttermilk cake and there are some recipes that do not even contain the cocoa. Great frosting if it is completely cooled, but I think the cake itself may need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
the rating is for the icing, which is UNbelievably good, but was all i made this time around, using my own red velvet recipe for the cake part. I took someone's advice and added a bit of confectioner's sugar and vanilla extract to make it a bit more manageable for decorating. I piped the icing onto cupcakes and they were snatched up quickly by my guests! I could have eaten the bowl of icing by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
WOW!! I made this into cupcakes for a friends birthday, everyone raved about them. I did use home made cream cheese frosting though, only because that's what she wanted and it was her birthday. These were moist and super good, not too too sweet. I baked the cupcakes at 350 for 22 minutes in reynolds baking cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent cake, not to sweet and the icing was awesome. I went straight by the directions and the only problem I had was the 325 for 25 minutes in the oven, I had to leave it for quite a bit longer. It was the tallest cake I've ever seen and it was a hit at the party !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I made this cake for a work bithday and everyone loved it but they all said the same thing... not enough chocolate so next time i will double the cocoa. The icing came out perfectly for me. trick is to make all the ingredients room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sah Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomastown, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I have grown up with red velvet cake. My grandmother made it for every special occasion and it was always my birthday request. However, being a true Southern cook she made the 7 minute frosting, not the cream cheese. My grandmother's recipe calls for only 2 eggs, which makes it lighter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States