Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have used this recipe for years, way before the recipe box was around. I am out of town without my print out. Thank goodness I found it again. This recipe is awesome! I also make truffles with it. I crumble the cake and mix in the frosting. Spoon on a cookie sheet and freeze. Then I dip them in white chocolate. I keep them frozen. Thaw just before serving. Greatest hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for a friend to congratulate her on being accepted to her dream college. It was a small personal sized cake so I cut the portions in half. I also did not use the included Cream Cheese icing recipe and instead substituted my own. It turned out very well. It wasn't too sweet and everyone loved it. I would recommend reading it through once before you start. There's a sections where mixtures are put together in three separate bowls. It could be confusing if you're not expecting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My personal favorite! I use this recipe exclusively!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeConnors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I think the recipe was just okay. I was questioning the baking temperature of 325 from the beginning. After the amount of time called for in the recipe, the batter was still very runny. I had to leave in the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes, which probably attributed to the dryness. I think if the recipe called for 350 the cake would have been ok. It just was not moist at all. I use my own cream cheese/powdered sugar frosting which everyone likes. No, was not a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not impressed with this recipe at all. Definitely would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
A great recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe. Note: if you need the icing to be a tad thicker, just add confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe for cake (did not use icing recipe); moist cake, not too heavy as some red velvets tend to be. Everybody loved it this holiday season. None to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My first time trying this recipe for Red Velvet Cake. Worst Red Velvet Cake ever. I followed the directions but the cake fell and the center of the cake turned out wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first time making a Red Velvet cake. I bake and cook a lot and figured it was time to try this old standard. My cake came out fabulous! I got many compliments and people asked for a second slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States