Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this cake and used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. It was ok, but probably not something I'd make again. I ended up using three times the cocoa powder and some vanilla extract, after the batter didn't taste even remotely like chocolate. The cake was moist and light, but it just tasted like something was missing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This cake was nice and easy to make! I did use another frosting mix (1 8 oz package of cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 cup unsalted butter, and 1 tsp vanilla extract).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used this recipe to make cake balls. I didn't have time to make a cake from scratch and refused to use a box red velvet cake mix so this was a good middle ground. I used another cream cheese frosting from this site but I know the cake turned out great. I will use this recipe next time I have to make red velvet cake balls. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chic Lil Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I think this is as close to a true red velvet cake as you can get while using a boxed cake mix. I consider myself a RV connoisseur but a novice cake baker so the idea of making a RV cake from scratch seemed daunting. I followed this recipe exactly except for using 3 T of cocoa powder and a different icing recipe as suggested by other reviewers. This cake was fabulous! Everyone who tasted it loved it and it was moist and delicious. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was a first in making Red Velvet Cake and it turned out beautifully! My daughter has been bugging me to make this for the past two years and because I really don't like baking, my younger daughter did the honors of making it for me. I so wish I had stepped in to read the reviews only because I felt it could have used more cocoa powder. No matter, it was still so good and the frosting was delicious! So light and fluffy and it certainly made enough for even three layers. Such a pretty cake and thank you so much Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I am not from the south, nor am I an expert on what a Red Velvet Cake is supposed to take like. My only experience with Red Velvet Cake is one lushious experience at the Claim Jumper Restaurant which prompted me to look for a recipe. I am an expert at knowing a delicious dessert when I taste one and this one is amazing! I added 4 Tbsp Cocoa as other reviewers suggested and 1 tsp vanilla extract. This was absolutely delicious. I did not use the frosting. Instead I made my own cream cheese frosting (1-8oz Cream Cheese, 1 stick margarine, 2 cups powdered sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla). I made this for the office as cupcakes and also for my mother in law's birthday. Everyone raved about this and several wanted more than I had. I plan on making this for my niece's baby shower this weekend and can't wait to devour again. Thanks so much for a really easy amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Yes, I have some guilt saying I made a red velvet cake when a cake mix was involved, but my wife loved it. Red velvet has been her favorite her whole life. When she tried the first bite, she did a little dance. That, my friends, equals five stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Keeping in mind that this recipe is made from a box cake, it's pretty good. It's dense and flavorful. It still has that box cake/chemical flavor that you CANNOT mask no matter how hard you try - so if you accept that this is a box cake recipe, you will be happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Overall good semi-homemade recipe very moist. Everyone who loves tastes it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very good! I used sugar-free pudding mix (bought it out of habit), which may have thrown off the proportions, but it was still very good! Didn't make the frosting in the recipe- used Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. Added 3 tbsp of cocoa powder as per other reviews. I underestimated how much food coloring is needed to get it really red- mine wasn't as bright as it should've been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States