Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
It's a good cupcake, not red velvet-y at all, and not by any means a GREAT cupcake... I did another batch adding 2 cups of sour cream and that helped, but will keep looking for a red velvet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great and easy recipe for a novice baker such as myself. The cake was moist and was a hit with everyone on Thanksgiving. I took the advice of previous reviewers and used 4 tbps of cocoa powder and tad bit more food coloring. I used store bought cream cheese icing and whipped it up (using a mixer) with a few drops of vanilla extract. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobodyyouknow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dessert and everyone said the cakes was really moist. It wasn't too light but this wasn't the typical decadent red velvet cake but it's just as good. The only differences to my recipe was to use 2 oz of red food coloring, 4 TBLSP of cocoa powder, and I used a premade whipped cream cheese frosting. I was going to make a different frosting from this website but I needed to save time. Oh, and make sure to completely cool the cake for an hour before you put the frosting. Next time I will make frosting myself for much better results, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Awesome. I made a few subsitutions that worked in my favor. I used white cake mix rather than yellow, white chocolate pudding rather than vanilla, reduced the cocoa powder to 1 teaspoon, and substituted the veggie oil for softened butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is "oh so good" very nice for holidays be it Christmas or Valentine's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used this recipe to make cupcakes, and it was great. The icing... not so much. Odd and not a typical cream cheese flavor. Very puddingy. The cake was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I should have known better than to try to skip steps with the cake mix in this recipe. I followed this recipe to the letter, other than tripling the cocoa, and it was completely tasteless. Neither the flavor nor texture were like true red velvet cake. I liked the fluffier version of cream cheese frosting, but my family didn't. If I were to ever try this again, I would definitely use chocolate pudding in the cake instead of vanilla. But I think I'd be better off with a from-scratch recipe, no cake mix involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made these for my daughter's birthday and they were very good. I added one extra tbs of cocoa powder and 1 tsp vanilla since some of the others had mentioned a lack of flavor. They were light, moist and delicious. The icing was good too and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Needed a quick red cake, for my vampire themed party. I wanted to try the other recipe from scratch, but I didn't have time to do a test batch, so I just went with this one. I ended up making cupcakes they turned out great! Everybody loved them. This is yet another great "doctored" cake mix on this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was excellent. The only change I made was to use 4 tablespoons of Cocoa and I am glad that did. The cake had the perfect chocolate flavor and was a big hit with everyone at my sons birthday party. My father in law ate three pieces! A did use the frosting recipe given and it was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kasilof, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States