Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I just made the cake (used cream cheese frosting II instead-amazing!) which was ok. Tasted like box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This cake was excellent. I got rave reviews from everyone at work. I wanted to take credit for the recipe but when everyone wanted the recipe I had to give it up. I increased the cocoa to 3 tablespoons as recommended. Super moist. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This cake was good, but it's NOT a TRUE Red Velvet Cake. Unfortunately I was looking for an easy way to make it and was disappointed with the outcome. However, it managed to disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHO DAT MOM
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was a good recipe, everyone at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHO DAT MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Paulina, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great cake after the recommended changes, FABULOUS icing. For those who didn't like the icing my guess is they were looking for the traditional cream cheese frosting. I don't care for traditional cream cheese frosting and I LOVED this. It was lighter and fluffier & had a taste somewhere b/twn the cream cheese and the pudding. I usually scrape any icing off my cake and just eat the cake. This was one where I could have eaten just the frosting. I will use this frosting recipe over and over! I took the advice of others and doubled the red food coloring, used chocolate pudding for the vanilla in the cake, used 4 Tbsp cocoa powder and used melted butter instead of veggie oil. It tasted great - equivalent to a 4 star in my book, but since there were so many changes made I took a star off. I wish I could have given it a 3.5 though because I was wild for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Easy & delicious! Made this for my Nana's birthday. Substituted apple sauce for oil & used whipping cream instead of cool whip. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
great recipe. I did add an extra tablespoon of cocoa for a more chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were good. Let me clarify, the cake was fine. The icing on the other hand was a huge flop and I only barely saved it with some additions. I should have taken heed of the thinly-veiled warnings when everyone who gave it 5 stars used their own frosting recipe. If you want to basically top the cupcake with pudding, then by all meals follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This got rave reviews last Christmas! People even asked for the recipe! It is an easy, really foolproof recipe to have. I did take other reviewes' advice and double the cocoa powder, and I liked the mellow chocolatey flavor the cake had. People also raved about the frosting, which is a nice, not too sweet topping for the cake. Highly recommeneded recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Didn't like this recipe much. Sure, it was easy enough but, it's very bland. I will for sure try another recipe next time I want to make red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States