Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This cake is great. I did what others suggested and added more cocoa, but no other changes. I made this twice, once with regular cream cheese frosting and once with the frosting included in the recipe. Me (and my kids) really did not like the frosting from this recipe. Its pretty bland...I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Perfect for a quick simple red velvet recipe. My friend requested red velvet for her birthday and I didn't have much time to do a whole thing from scratch, found and used this recipe. I was really happy with it. As suggested I doubled the cocoa powder and doubled the food coloring. It was moist and chocolaty. It was a hit with all my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great flavor, easy, and soo moist, much better and easier than my old red velvet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RECHABITE
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
very good recipe. used recipe to make a bundt cake. but instead of the recipe's frosting, i glazed it with the German Chocolate Cake Frosting II. i didn't add any coconut or pecans to the frosting. however i did sprinkle a little coconut flakes on top. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECHABITE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
love the cake, love the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETPANDORA13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I gave it a 5 star with these changes: Add 4 tablespoons cocoa (I followed the suggestions from other bakers on the review) and increase water to 1 1/3 cups, and bake for 37 min. I used Cream Cheese Frosting II instead. Everyone at my party said it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was pretty tasty, easy to do, and my family liked it overall. The only thing I did different was add mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and it was just the little something this recipe needed :] I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I love red velvet cake and this was my first time making it. It turned out awesome!! I didnt have the instant pudding mix so I used one of those individual chocolate pudding cups and it still turned out great. Used store bought cream cheese frosting, mmmmm cant wait to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Ridge, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe was just like my Mama used to make. Let me tell you, it was really good. I did do something unheard of with Red Velvet and that is add coconut to the icing.... even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I was lookingor for something more than a cake mix and red food coloring, thought I am sure it ends up being quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States