Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I doubled the cocoa powder and other than that, followed recipe exactly. The cake was very moist and I got lots of compliments on the cake and cupcakes. I'm only giving 4 stars because I was not the biggest fan of the frosting and think the prepackaged whipped cream cheese frosting in the store is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The cake was delicious and very moist. I really liked the frosting (light and not too sweet), but my husband did not. He likes the traditional frosting for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! It was super easy to make and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is different from the red velvet cake my great-grandmother used to make with a very thick, sweet cream cheese frosting. While that is still my favorite, I'm giving this 5 stars, because my daughter loves this cake and always requests it. She doesn't usually eat icing, but loves this lighter, fluffier frosting. So you just need to know that up front, so you can decide if you want to try this or use a heavier, more traditional frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Having never made an RV cake I found this recipe to be easy and very tasteful. However as far as I could find, the pudding only comes in 1 and 1 1/2 ounce sizes. I used one of the 1 1/2 oz containers for the cake and found the recipe to be fine. However the frosting left a great deal to be desired. Next time I will use a different recipe for the frosting. BTW, I used sugar-free instant pudding and reduced sugar cake mix for a very low sugar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great recipe! I've never made a RV cake, and this one came out great. Very moist, and fluffy. I made mini and regular sized cupcakes, and used a store bought cream cheese frosting instead of the one in this recipe (needed to save some time). These will be perfect for a vampire themed party I am hosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Wow! This cake recipe is possible the first dessert I've ever made that my whole family loved. With a few revisions, this cake came out unbelievably moist: 4 TB cocoa powder, 5/6 cup oil, and 1 1/4 cup water. With 1 full ounce of red food coloring (4 of those mini dropper bottles or 1 large glass bottle) the cake came out a lovely rich dark red color. I went with Cream Cheese Frosting II which came out delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Easy to make. I used white cake instead of yellow, and also doubled the cocoa and used 2oz of red food coloring. The cake came out more of a pink color than red but still looked nice. Made tons of icing! Overall tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKRETSCHMER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I made a blue velvet cake! It came out quite tasty, though the flavor was not exactly like other red velvet cakes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I'm no Red Velvet cake expert, but I thought this was a good cake. I used a whole bottle of red food coloring (the tiny ones that come in a set) and it wasn't enough to get a rich red color-- more a brown red, FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States