Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for. I have so many customers that love the bright red red velvet cake & they request no cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
So good and moist. I added a small amount of peppermint. Cause I don't care for chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I recently made this cake for my son's 2nd Birthday party and it is simply wonderful! I made a Spiderman cake, red velvet cake with a blue cream cheese outside and webbing of course. I have tried other red velvet recipes in the past and was very disappointed with how dry they were and how much they lacked in color. This recipe however is the complete opposite! Very moist and a very VERY bright and beautiful red. The only thing I did different was add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa. Definitely making this one again....and again! Love it and it was a huge hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I read other recipes, so addeded 1/3 cocoa powder; i changed 1 C Oil to 1/2 c butter + 1/2 C shortening, and perhaps because i was using cake flour, i needed to add 1 egg (for 3 total), because batter was so stiff. I was disappointed cake was not very moist, and sort of "bland" as other reviewers said. I'll try other Red Velvets til I find a better tasting one... and don't use cake flour., it does not "rise" as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Too this recipe I added a teaspoon of coco powder to give it that light chocolate flavor. I brought this to a family birthday party and everyone said that they hated red velvet cake but they loved this cake. I made 2 nine inch rounds and put my homemade whipped cream frosting on it. This cake was amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The cake is kinda dry, maybe should have added more oil. Used 2 tsp cocoa, should have used more. I watched the video that was with the recipe after I tried the cupcakes. Ingredients were not only different but different amounts. I will probably try it one more time according to the video. If that doesn't work, I won't try it again. Definitely lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Hi I used this recipe well the frosting part for a birthday cake. I am a skilled baker but couldn't get this frosting recipe to work. In this case it turned out more like a glaze then a frosting. I even add more confection sugar to it to help it stability. It end up being very sweet and consistanct of water. I was totally not impressed and would never use this recipe again. Plus as for the cake part who would use vinegar in a cake recipe. I would never use this for a nice event it will not turn out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this cake was OK but it wasn't spectacular.I used more cocoa the second time and it came out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Tastes nothing like red velvet cake, even after adding the cocoa powder. Instead of making a cake I made cupcakes to try out, but I won't be making them again. Although, it makes a good children's cake in general, so if you want to make a simple nice cake then use this recipe. Just don't bother with the colouring. Icing was buttery so I had to add more icing sugar, tasted alright in the end. I wouldn't really suggest using this icing to be honest, I usually make my icing from the Primrose Bakery book, and I'll be sticking to that. An alright cake in general, so I'm giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe is great and wonderful!!!! I really like it, and have made it serveral times, it taste good and very moist, my family really loves this cake!!! Thank you! CW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States