Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This is almost the same as my grandmother's recipe, except she uses cake flour, 2 cups of oil and 1 tablespoon of cocoa. We also use 1 cup of pecans in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This cake was one of my best cakes, & all my friends thought it had an unusual taste tho' there is nothing unusual in it except the colouring. The frosting, tho' it was just cream cheese frosting tasted so good.....too good.I'd bake this cake over & over again for family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
ADDED COCOA IT WAS GREAT!!! NICE FLUFFY, MOIST!!! ABSOLUTLY DELISH!!! EASY TO MAKE!!! WILL DEFINATLY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COWVIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this today to take to hubby's work Xmas party tonight. This was a huge hit! My changes were to add 1 tsp of cocoa and make sure that the buttermilk and eggs were at room temp. I left out the pecans in the frosting. I used cake flour and still sifted all of the dry ingredients. I used two 9 inch rounds that baked in 27 minutes. I topped with strawberries. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
great cake - easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This is the most WONDERFUL cake in the world! I've only tasted red velvet one other time in my life, when I was a child. Thanks to the internet, I have reclaimed this childhood favorite! This is a taste sinsation! My 11 year old son even wants this cake for his birthday, instead of an ice cream cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
My Mom and I decided to try this one. It was a no brainer. It was moist and tasted so much like the cakes from back in the day! It tasted great, so my crash test dummies cleaned it up in no time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was a delicious cake! I made it on Christmas Eve and my family loved it. I thought it was going to be hard, but it was easy. I know that I will be making this again. Thanks A Bunch!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
i used the icing from this recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
i thought that you did a great job and i just wish that i would be able to make something as good as the red velvet cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States