Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I tried this recipe for my wife's birthday because of all the rave reviews for it. I have been baking since I was a kid and owned my own bakery at one time. This cake was coarse in texture and dry. I suppose it's because of the multitude of chemicals used to raise the thing. The batter was thin and didn't look like it would fill the pan. It rose and the center of each layer fell a little in the middle. The flavor was lacking and it was nothing to write home about. Not one I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful cake....EASY...LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Awesome cake! Just changed a couple things - added some cocoa (sorry i don't measure when I do this lol) and some butter flavoring. Also, I think the frosting recipe is supposed to have 2 pkgs of cream cheese instead of 1. Worked out after I added the second box. :) Cake was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Original Red Velvet cake is, essentially, a lightly flavored chocolate cake. This recipe is missing the two tablespoons of cocoa powder that are suppose to be included in the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
i thought that you did a great job and i just wish that i would be able to make something as good as the red velvet cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This cake is definately missing something...not sure where this recipe originated, but I've always heard that a red velvet cake should be more than just red...like it should have the taste of devil's food cake, but have the red colour. I won't be making this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this today to take to hubby's work Xmas party tonight. This was a huge hit! My changes were to add 1 tsp of cocoa and make sure that the buttermilk and eggs were at room temp. I left out the pecans in the frosting. I used cake flour and still sifted all of the dry ingredients. I used two 9 inch rounds that baked in 27 minutes. I topped with strawberries. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This is almost the same as my grandmother's recipe, except she uses cake flour, 2 cups of oil and 1 tablespoon of cocoa. We also use 1 cup of pecans in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I really liked this cake. Everyone at work said it was great. It was ate in about 30 minutes flat. The icing is what makes this cake, it is truely a wonderful cream cheese icing. For me, I would have liked a more moist interior cake. Maybe a TBS of sour cream would have done the trick for me. This cake makes the apperance you really worked all day on it, when actually it is pretty east for a red velevet. I WILL MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
ADDED COCOA IT WAS GREAT!!! NICE FLUFFY, MOIST!!! ABSOLUTLY DELISH!!! EASY TO MAKE!!! WILL DEFINATLY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COWVIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States