Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this over Christmas, not knowing that Red Velvet usually has cocoa in it. The cake was amazing though! I would have never known the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is not red velvet cake. I made this for valentines day and it was terrible! I don't know if it was the white distilled vinegar in the recipe or what but the cake had a very different taste that I couldn't put my finger on and it was very oily. I can't rate the frosting as I used another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I was not impressed with this recipe.. it was decent, but nothing to rave about. Maybe its the recipe, maybe its me... I just didn't taste any real flavor from this cake, its was pretty bland with the exception of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I have searched for a true red velvet recipe that has no cocoa in it. And i have finally found it. i did add a 1/2 cup more oil and a teaspoon of butter flavoring. My family loved it and placed orders for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My first cake from scratch. Used canola oil 1 oz. red food color I can't believe it's not butter 2 tbs. cocoa 1/2 slices of strawberry to decorate. We all loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eekey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Good cake and icing. Just didn't seem like the cake had lots of flavor to us. I had never made Red Velvet cake before so maybe this is typical. Was very beautiful and festive though for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is basically the same, fantastic recipe I've been using for 20 years and this is the way Red Velvet is supposed to be done (without cocoa powder - I don't know why people insist on adding it). I use 2 cups of pecans in the icing. THIS RECIPE ABSOLUTELY ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was great!! THANK YOU!! I made this cake for my Woman Friend for valentines day. It is her FAV cake. She ENJOYED EVERYBIT OF IT. But i have to say that i have become popular at her job because of this cake. she took some of it to work so that she could brag to her friends, and now they ask her all of the time "can you have your man make that cake again" lol. again THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was an easy recipe to follow but the taste was not what I was expecting. Although, the frosting was great so for that I gave it a 3 star. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is TRUELY THE BEST ever!!! i have been using this one for years and when taken to the same table as one that has coco in it, this one wins hands down! If you want devil's food then don't make red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States