Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
used previous suggestions - more cocoa, oil instead of shortening, used a cream cheese frosting (even if it isn't traditional, people love cream cheese frosting) - and this turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made the recommended alterations from the original recipe, batter was a little thick and cake was a little heavy, but delicious. Used only an ounce of food coloring, (about 2.5 T Spoons) and the color was beautiful. Also I used the coco powder to grease and dust the pans. Cake needs to be lighter and fluffier, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used the most helpful tips, and WOW, wonderful cake! I've heard many people have trouble with the moistness, I removed my cake from oven 3 min. early (27 min) and it was perfect! I also substituted 1/2 C olive oil and 1/2 C vegetable oil. Was GREAT. I would add 4 T cocoa if you want a more chocolatey flavor, 3 wasn't quite enough. So, good, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The reason I gave only 4 stars is because the cake was pretty dry. It tasted great and the frosting was great. If it were a little more moist it would be perfect. I plan to make it again with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I tweaked the recipe a little and it was very simple and delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Good cake, I just thought that it was a bit dry. I will make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I've had much better red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Good but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped and it was a bit flat tasting. I was hoping for a bit more bite. My search for the perfect red velvet recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is the best red velvet recipe iv found. I make it all the time and everyone iv made it for loves it. Don't use the frosting recipe given its terrible I don't even understand why someone would make frosting this way! Very moist, works well as cupcakes and as a cake even better when its eaten cold. Be careful not to over bake, very good recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutiekk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Absolutely to die for. A little dense... but I think I preferred it that way! I use a cream cheese icing and oh my. Absolutely heaven. Reminded me of Cheesecake Factory's Red Velvet Cheesecake . YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States