Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was my first time EVER making a cake, and it turned out very well! Very easy, too! However, it was a bit dry. But the icing is AMAZING!!! I would def recommend trying one of the modified versions, to have a more moist cake. It was for my boyfriend's birthday (and he is VERY into his taste buds and critiquing everything his tongue touches) so it was a very good sign that he enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very dry. Lacking flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aghavni30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
used previous suggestions - more cocoa, oil instead of shortening, used a cream cheese frosting (even if it isn't traditional, people love cream cheese frosting) - and this turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made the recommended alterations from the original recipe, batter was a little thick and cake was a little heavy, but delicious. Used only an ounce of food coloring, (about 2.5 T Spoons) and the color was beautiful. Also I used the coco powder to grease and dust the pans. Cake needs to be lighter and fluffier, but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used the most helpful tips, and WOW, wonderful cake! I've heard many people have trouble with the moistness, I removed my cake from oven 3 min. early (27 min) and it was perfect! I also substituted 1/2 C olive oil and 1/2 C vegetable oil. Was GREAT. I would add 4 T cocoa if you want a more chocolatey flavor, 3 wasn't quite enough. So, good, thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
The reason I gave only 4 stars is because the cake was pretty dry. It tasted great and the frosting was great. If it were a little more moist it would be perfect. I plan to make it again with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I tweaked the recipe a little and it was very simple and delicious. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Good cake, I just thought that it was a bit dry. I will make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I've had much better red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Good but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped and it was a bit flat tasting. I was hoping for a bit more bite. My search for the perfect red velvet recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States