Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Followed recipe with rec changes and cake was ok, a bit stodgy for my liking and not as tasty as my usual choc cake recipe. Frosting is good though, super smooth, tastes kinds like custard. The first time i made it i iced some sticky toffee cupcakes, its goot coz its not as sweet as butter cream but it doesnt pipe smooth in the same way as proper buttercream. The second time i made it (when i made the red velvet cake) i added 150g melted white choc...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackburn, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ream
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Turned out too dark,, not the red i was expecting, though i used the whole red coloring bottle! it was a bit dry, but i used lots of icing and it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The cake was FANTASTIC. The icing was awful, it separated and I tried my absolute best to fix it after but I ended up having to make a cream cheese icing because this was so thin and wouldn't thicken. The cake was moist and delicious and got rave reviews. So overall good recipe just nix the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosepine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made all of the suggested changes but without thinking I used non-fat milk in the icing. Not a good thing, it never thickened and it resulted in a runny mess. Sooo, I made the icing a second time using what I had on hand, a can of evaporated milk. What a difference. This icing is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First of all, red velvet cake isn't my favorite, and that's mainly why it's only 4. But it's a great recipe for a friend's bday if they like red velvet. The red food coloring took me forever to find (two boxes of McCormick's) and cost $5. I'm going to buy this online for next time. I also didn't do a good enough job of mixing the cocoa paste in, and the coloring was uneven. The directions were confusing, but use a brown glass bowl to mix the baking soda and vinegar so it can react before you add it in. (obvious now). Finally, the frosting took 2 tries, but turned out perfect. The key was to use a hand mixer to cream for you otherwise it may not get creamy enough. Then add the gravy like milk in four equal portions, mixing thoroughly between potions. The picture shows strawberries with it. Must try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I followed other people's substitution suggestions and also used chocolate chips instead of cocoa powder as I didn't have any. Cake sunk in the middle (my fault, I'm sure, from over mixing). Used the frosting recipe, thought it had curdled but read other reviews saying you need to mix for nearly 10 minutes. Kept mixing and it came out great! Just tried the cake - it's not dry, actually quite moist and the icing is wonderful. This was my first ever Kitchen Aid Mixer recipe so will try again and try to avoid the sinking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
only 4 stars since I used the a fore mentioned changes and it was yummy. I'd use regular butter creme frosting as I'm not a chef and the cooking with flour just resulted in yucky floury lumps. but the cake was awesome and you really don't need two bottles of food coloring one is plenty, I brought it to work so I wouldn't eat it all myself. it was oohed and awed over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Followed a few of the suggestions. Loved the frosting. Much better than cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was my first time EVER making a cake, and it turned out very well! Very easy, too! However, it was a bit dry. But the icing is AMAZING!!! I would def recommend trying one of the modified versions, to have a more moist cake. It was for my boyfriend's birthday (and he is VERY into his taste buds and critiquing everything his tongue touches) so it was a very good sign that he enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very dry. Lacking flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aghavni30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States