Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I just made this cake last night as others suggested where I substituted shortening with a cup of vege oil, but I kept the sugar at 1 1/2 cup as I don't like my cake too sweet, used 4 tbsp of cocoa powder, and use 1 ounce of coloring instead where I mixed it with buttermilk and it still turned out red. I didn't have white vinegar and used cider vinegar instead, but it works fine. Make sure you put the cake straight in the oven after you mixed the batter with baking soda and vinegar to make sure your cake rise perfectly! I used whipped cream cheese topping in this site, to keep the cake on the lighter side, and put it in a fridge overnight, and it tasted AMAZING the next day!!! 4 star as I made all the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Beautiful cake and the frosting was unbelievably good. The cake, though was somewhat dry and not quite chocolate-y enough for me. Glad I read the reviews on the frosting - or I wouldn't have known to heat the flour/milk mixture till the consistency of mashed potatoes. I used almond milk instead of milk in the frosting. Next time I make it, I will increase the cocoa, maybe add more buttermilk to make it moister (?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My first red velvet cake. I combined all of the ingredients precisely as suggested. The batter looked extremely dry-- and then I tasted the batter--it tasted like nothing and I have very sensitive taste buds. There was absolutely zero flavor. Pretty red color--but we want our cake to taste as good if not better than it looks. I just kept adding ingredients until the batter tasted yummy. I know I shouldn't taste batter with raw eggs--but I couldnt help myself:) I used a total of a little over a 1/2 cup of cocoa--I added another egg, some more buttermilk and a little more sugar to balance the added cocoa... i had no shortening so I used equal aount of veg oil--and also added a couple tablespoons butter(next time i'll use butter in pace of the oil/shortening-- the batter looked really moist and was a good texture... ready for the oven! I was afraid I might have messed up the chemistry, but it rose beautifully and had a really nicely textured, velvety red crumb. I let my husband taste the batter before I put it in the oven--he said it was yummy! Finished product: Everyone loved and raved about the cake. I used a cream cheese frosting--hubby's choice--yum!! Thank you to the person who submitted this recipe--it gave me a base to which I could customize to our tastes... we are foodies 'round here!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a hit! Made the suggested adjustments and it was moist, the frosting was delicious! Topped with the strawberries was real yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was easy and fantastic. My father is very picky about red velvet and he loved this one, I will definitely use it again. The cake came out moist and a great shade of red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I love to bake and have been baking for many years, since I'm 62, I was disappointed in cake, the cake was very dry!!!! I baked for family Christmas, will not bake again.I made suggested changes by other viewers to be sure cake would be moist, but no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this cake on Christmas eve, and it didn't turn out as expected. It didn't rise, so I made red velvet brownies out of it instead. It was very rich to me, but my guests ate it all. I only gave it three stars because of all the adjustments you had to make. The fact that it didn't rise was purely my own fault, because I mixed it to long because it was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
As per other reviews, I increased the cocoa powder to 4 T and only used 1 oz of food coloring. Cake turned out nice and moist but I will add more cocoa next time because I think it was missing the chocolaty flavor. The icing was wonderful. I beat the butter/sugar for 15 mins before adding the flour/milk. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is the exact recipe I have been making for years. Perfect the way it is...no modifications needed. It just may take a little practice. And, I agree, this IS the correct icing for RV cake. A little time consuming, but well worth it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Followed recipe with rec changes and cake was ok, a bit stodgy for my liking and not as tasty as my usual choc cake recipe. Frosting is good though, super smooth, tastes kinds like custard. The first time i made it i iced some sticky toffee cupcakes, its goot coz its not as sweet as butter cream but it doesnt pipe smooth in the same way as proper buttercream. The second time i made it (when i made the red velvet cake) i added 150g melted white choc...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackburn, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States