Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Just finished baking the cake portion of the recipe and plan on using a different recipe for a bourbon cream cheese frosting. Before making the cake I read all the reviews and increased to 4 Tbs cocoa, 2 cups of sugar, and 1.5 t vanilla (you can never have too much vanilla) reduced to 1 oz food coloring, I also substituted the 1/2 c shortening with 1 cup of vegetable oil. Other than that I made it according to the directions. To test if the cake was done I used a toothpick and found it took 50 minutes for the center to be done. By that time the edges were dry as can be and the cake actually was terrible. I'm still giving it 4 stars because I didn't exactly follow the original recipe and you can bet next time I will. I can't see how the original can be any worse than the cake that I baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was a great recipe. I actually followed the directions to the letter and the cake turned out very good, moist and not try at all. i also used this cake with fondant to create an Assassin's Creed cake, using the buttercream fondant and frosting recipes on this website. Not the standard frosting, i know, but it tasted great! It was very easy to make, too, and i had not made a cake from scratch in 15 plus years or from a box in at least 10, so that made me pretty happy. My husband, whose birthday it was, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica L Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I made it tonight and it was ok. Seemed a little dry, and slightly bland. I think I was missing the cream cheese icing which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I followed exactly as written and had no problems with it. I think you definitely have to carefully fold in the vinegar/baking soda mixture to allow for a light & airy cake. I only wish the frosting was a larger quantity. Next time I'll make a double batch of it, as I split my cake into four layers with the fluffy frosting in between each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDlargirl
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My rating is for the frosting. Absolutely delicious! Smooth, creamy, fluffy and great taste. Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't make this cake tho. Frosting was easy but time consuming because of the beating time. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used the modifications others did, but also used cake flour instead of all purpose flour. it made for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I was making this cake 50 years ago...the original recipe for the frosting calls for using crisco, not butter or oil....it is a very touchy recipe but if you can get it right it is to die for...tastes just like whipped cream...at first I had problems with it curddeling, but finally mastered it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This has the same ingredience that my old recipe has, except I have 4 T cocoa and 1 cup oil and 2 cups sugar. and I double the frosting. Iam so glad to see the right orginal frosting and NOT cream cheese. I'am a cake decorator and get ask to make this recipe alot, and a family favorite all around. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I, too am glad this recipe is more traditional and doesn't use the cream cheese in the frosting! PEOPLE, True red velvet cake does NOT have cream cheese frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klt
Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUECIOETA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Traditional red velvet cake? This is it. I've made this recipe several times, and I tried to skip some steps in my first attempts. Don't skip steps. The swirls of cocoa will happen, among other things. I did add an extra heaping TBSP of cocoa powder, however, and only used one ounce of red food coloring. Because you really need two ounces to make the paste (that extra liquid is necessary), as the recipe calls for, I added a bit of extra vanilla to the paste so I could mix the cocoa properly. For those who say the cake is too dense - that is what it's supposed to be. It allows for baking a flat cake because you can really spread that cake batter evenly into the pan, which allows for slicing in half for making the traditional 4 layers. For those who say the icing is too goopey, they probably did not cook the flour/milk to a paste, or perhaps they didn't let it cool properly. Either would cause that problem. When making 4 layers, as I did, it's necessary to double the recipe for the icing. Substituting a cream cheese icing is fine for those who think that's what they prefer - but this is the authentic recipe. It's quite good. Thanks for sharing!! Oh, it really is best the next day. Try to make a day ahead. The moisture of the icing will help the cake, which can be dry at first. But upon sitting over night as an iced cake, this is really top-notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States