Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Really good! Fluffy and light texture, which I really liked. (Last RV cake I made was really dense, which I didn't care for.) I did take the suggestions of the other reviewers and used 1 cup oil and 2 cups of sugar. It was just the right amount of sweetness and was moist. Also, I used 1/3 cup of cocoa, which gave a nice hint of chocolateyness, not overwhelming. I tried to do the 1 cup milk/1 Tbsp. vinegar trick, but 1 Tbsp. didn't seem to be enough, so had to use at least 2. Not sure why. Like some others, I ended up with brown streaks, perhaps because I should have used my mixer to mix the baking soda mixture into the batter, rather than just folding it in according to the directions. Baked mini-cupcakes at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. The icing is good! A little stiffer than "Poor Man's Frosting" on this site. I think I'll stick with PMF, since the measurements for the icing for this recipe made it hard for me to frost the cupcakes. But I made my co-workers very happy! Everyone says they're delicious. Thanks to everyone for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I followed the suggested changes by TLBRAN,--the cake tastes wonderful! I'm cursed with homemade cakes, I just can't get them to taste right. But this one was amazing! Great flavor. The frosting definitely needs to be cold to work right, and use powdered sugar instead of regular, mine turned out grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AubreeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Just finished baking the cake portion of the recipe and plan on using a different recipe for a bourbon cream cheese frosting. Before making the cake I read all the reviews and increased to 4 Tbs cocoa, 2 cups of sugar, and 1.5 t vanilla (you can never have too much vanilla) reduced to 1 oz food coloring, I also substituted the 1/2 c shortening with 1 cup of vegetable oil. Other than that I made it according to the directions. To test if the cake was done I used a toothpick and found it took 50 minutes for the center to be done. By that time the edges were dry as can be and the cake actually was terrible. I'm still giving it 4 stars because I didn't exactly follow the original recipe and you can bet next time I will. I can't see how the original can be any worse than the cake that I baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was a great recipe. I actually followed the directions to the letter and the cake turned out very good, moist and not try at all. i also used this cake with fondant to create an Assassin's Creed cake, using the buttercream fondant and frosting recipes on this website. Not the standard frosting, i know, but it tasted great! It was very easy to make, too, and i had not made a cake from scratch in 15 plus years or from a box in at least 10, so that made me pretty happy. My husband, whose birthday it was, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica L Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I made it tonight and it was ok. Seemed a little dry, and slightly bland. I think I was missing the cream cheese icing which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I followed exactly as written and had no problems with it. I think you definitely have to carefully fold in the vinegar/baking soda mixture to allow for a light & airy cake. I only wish the frosting was a larger quantity. Next time I'll make a double batch of it, as I split my cake into four layers with the fluffy frosting in between each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDlargirl
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My rating is for the frosting. Absolutely delicious! Smooth, creamy, fluffy and great taste. Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't make this cake tho. Frosting was easy but time consuming because of the beating time. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used the modifications others did, but also used cake flour instead of all purpose flour. it made for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I was making this cake 50 years ago...the original recipe for the frosting calls for using crisco, not butter or oil....it is a very touchy recipe but if you can get it right it is to die for...tastes just like whipped cream...at first I had problems with it curddeling, but finally mastered it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This has the same ingredience that my old recipe has, except I have 4 T cocoa and 1 cup oil and 2 cups sugar. and I double the frosting. Iam so glad to see the right orginal frosting and NOT cream cheese. I'am a cake decorator and get ask to make this recipe alot, and a family favorite all around. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States