Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Incredible. Cake was moist, not to fluffy, not too dense. For the cake, I substituted 1 cup canola oil for shortening; 2 cups sugar instead of 1.5; doubled the cocoa powder. For the frosting I used half and half instead of milk and confectioner's sugar instead of regular sugar. My first try with the frosting turn into a mottled mess, with unappetizing curdles, this turned out to be because I hadn't cooled the cream and flour mix enough. The second time i tried it, I put the cream and flour mix in the freezer until it was very cold, but not frozen. The I mixed it very well and strained it. I added it to the butter and sugar mix bit by bit, until I had the consistency that I wanted (didn't use all of it), and it was delicious. The recipe doesn't state, but make sure that the butter is room temperature before you cream it with the sugar. Cutting it into small 1in cubes will help this a lot. And if you have to pop it in the microwave, do 5 secs at a time. Also of not, I used half of the recipe for cupcakes and the other to make a cake, cupcakes where just ok, I think 25mins was a little too much time for them, the cake though, cooked at 325 was phenomenal. Everyone raved about it. I have also made this recipe with Cream Cheese Frosting II and it was another success - doubled the sugar to cater to my sweet tooth. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It was very dry and not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is my third time commenting on this cake. Skip the shortening and add a stick of butter. Also two bottles of red food coloring is too much. You only need a couple tablespoons, 3 at most. Anyway, when I watched the video the cake batter did not look nice and fluffy and creamy like mine. Also, the icing is exactly what I use only I cook the milk and flour mixture until it's thicker that what the video showed. The icing in the video also didn't have that nice creamy texture that mine has. It looked grainy and unappealing. I beat the heck out of mine with a Kitchen-aid mixer. Beat it for maybe 10 minutes. It will be fluffy and creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good flavor. It didn't rise as well as I would have liked. I modified the recipe as suggested by other users, replacing the shortening with oil and using 2 cups of sugar. I'll likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have never submitted a review for any recipe and I have been using Allrecipes for years. But this recipe called for a shout out. I made this cake for my son's birthday. I changed it into a 9X13 size, added 4 Tbspns of cocoa (dutch processed), and added 1/2 tspn. of baking powder in addition to the baking soda that is called for. I only did this because I didn't have natural cocoa powder. The color I added didn't show up and it remained a dark brown cake but that didn't really matter in the end. I also didn't increase the sugar as other reviewers have suggested. The cake was plenty sweet. The icing was incredibly easy and fantastic. I will always make this icing on cakes. The cake was out of this world. Every single person commented on how good it was. It was moist and flavorful. I had a professional baker as a guest and even she asked me for the recipe. All credit goes to JJohn! Thanks for making my son's 1st birthday a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is the original Waldorf-Astoria Red Velvet recipe, with the exception that it doesn't say to heap the tablespoons of cocoa. It takes a bit of work, but the results are amazingly good. The cakes turn out wonderful, but keep an eye on them. If they are overcooked, they turn out dry. In my oven at 350, two 9 inch pans take 28 minutes. When I lived at a lower altitude, it took a few minutes less time. The only change I make to the recipe is to substitute unsalted butter for the shortening and reduce the food coloring to one ounce. In my opinion, butter makes for a richer, moister cake and one ounce of red food coloring makes it plenty red. The frosting can be challenging, especially the first time. I have never had a problem with lumps in the flour and milk mixture. I whisk it as it cooks. It doesn't take long to thicken, and I stir it the entire time. It may seem like the white sugar in the frosting recipe will not blend in. It does. After combining the four and milk mixture with the sugar, butter and vanilla mixture, expect to beat the frosting on high speed with an electric mixer for 8 or 9 minutes. The frosting comes out a lot like whipped cream when it is finished. This is a very old recipe, and I hate to see that credit isn't given to its origins. It is an award winner, too. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was ok - just average for me. I followed directions exactly, except subbing butter for shortening which I always do. I only used 1 oz color, because it was all that I had. My kids liked the cake; I found it ok. Not too sweet, which is a good thing, but it lacked something, I'm not sure what. The frosting tasted too buttery for me, but that could be just me; I'm not a buttercream frosting person so maybe that's why I don't like this frosting. It was fairly runny, I ended up not using the complete milk mixture, only about half or slightly over. However, once the cake was in the refrigerator, it did firm up. I might try this again, I'm not sure, but I will for sure adjust cocoa or sugar, and prb a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
It's actually funny; I have the same recipe except with 1 1/2 c. oil instead of 1/2 c. shortening. I know it seems like a ton, but it makes the moistest, lightest, most delicious cake out there! Also, it has 2 tsp. vinegar and a bit less food coloring. For cupcakes, bake only 15 minutes and they rise beautifully. Trust me, if you want to make red velvet cake make these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
See photo; only had half the amount of red coloring. The salt and baking soda together made this cake too salty. I´ll try it again with only 1/2 tsp salt. Tasted like a mild chocolate cake. Personally, I prefer the One Bowl Chocolate Cake over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States