Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Didn't like the texture or flavour. Maybe that's how it's supposed to be but I actually prefer the box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This cake was awesome!! I didn't change a thing, and everyone loved it! I was a little skeptical about putting the milk and flour mixture into the frosting, but that really made the texture light and fluffy. I forgot to alternate mixing the buttermilk mixture in with the flour, but it came out great anyway. I will surely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe!!! I used cake flour, instead of all-purpose, as I had it on hand and made the equivalent substitutions (1 c. + 1 TBSP. cake flour= 1 c all-purpose). I also substituted sour milk (1c. Milk + 1 TBSP vinegar. Let sit 5 min. til curdled, mix, then measure correct amount of required milk.). Came out perfectly moist and had a nice crumb. I doubled the frosting and had plenty left over. Will definitely add this to the family favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
it was okay.... i wouldn't use this frosting again. I would make cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and suggestions to the tee, the cake was terrible. It was chewy and heavy, very bland flavor, so the modifications others made did nothing to help the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Steele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This came out perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe is terrible! I took the advice of using oil instead of shortening, and the cakes fell and they were super greasy. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent cake! I made as directed, except used (nontraditional) cream cheese frosting. The only thing I'd change next time is to leave out all that red food coloring. It won't change the taste, only the color. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Henderson
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My son requested a Red Velvet Cake for his 21st birthday celebration. I read a lot of the reviews and on the advise of one of the reviewers who went into the science behind substitutions, decided to make it exactly as listed. I split the 2 9" layers in half to make 4 layers and took the time to make the icing as directed. It was wonderful. I had tons of compliments and everyone wanted to know how the icing was made. My opinion, if you use cream cheese icing, it is way too sweet. Go classic and take your time and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for red velvet cake for a co-workers birthday. I gave this one a try. I followed it exactly. It came out great! She said it was one of the best she's had! Mine was not dry at all. I did not try the frosting recipe, but the cake was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States