Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent cake! I made as directed, except used (nontraditional) cream cheese frosting. The only thing I'd change next time is to leave out all that red food coloring. It won't change the taste, only the color. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Henderson
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My son requested a Red Velvet Cake for his 21st birthday celebration. I read a lot of the reviews and on the advise of one of the reviewers who went into the science behind substitutions, decided to make it exactly as listed. I split the 2 9" layers in half to make 4 layers and took the time to make the icing as directed. It was wonderful. I had tons of compliments and everyone wanted to know how the icing was made. My opinion, if you use cream cheese icing, it is way too sweet. Go classic and take your time and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for red velvet cake for a co-workers birthday. I gave this one a try. I followed it exactly. It came out great! She said it was one of the best she's had! Mine was not dry at all. I did not try the frosting recipe, but the cake was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This cake was horrible. Tasted terrible and so dry I almost choked on it. The only reason I gave it even one star was that I really loved the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The first time I made this, I did double the chocolate as others had suggested. The red dye that I used was a gel and unfortunately this did not blend well and there were swirls in the cake. Aside from the dryness it tasted delicious. The second time I made it for Christmas Eve, I used a liquid red dye (2 oz)- no swirls and replaced the shortening with the 1 cup of oil that other reviewers had suggested. Beautiful. It was moist and delicious. The icing was a knockout both times. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Incredible. Cake was moist, not to fluffy, not too dense. For the cake, I substituted 1 cup canola oil for shortening; 2 cups sugar instead of 1.5; doubled the cocoa powder. For the frosting I used half and half instead of milk and confectioner's sugar instead of regular sugar. My first try with the frosting turn into a mottled mess, with unappetizing curdles, this turned out to be because I hadn't cooled the cream and flour mix enough. The second time i tried it, I put the cream and flour mix in the freezer until it was very cold, but not frozen. The I mixed it very well and strained it. I added it to the butter and sugar mix bit by bit, until I had the consistency that I wanted (didn't use all of it), and it was delicious. The recipe doesn't state, but make sure that the butter is room temperature before you cream it with the sugar. Cutting it into small 1in cubes will help this a lot. And if you have to pop it in the microwave, do 5 secs at a time. Also of not, I used half of the recipe for cupcakes and the other to make a cake, cupcakes where just ok, I think 25mins was a little too much time for them, the cake though, cooked at 325 was phenomenal. Everyone raved about it. I have also made this recipe with Cream Cheese Frosting II and it was another success - doubled the sugar to cater to my sweet tooth. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It was very dry and not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is my third time commenting on this cake. Skip the shortening and add a stick of butter. Also two bottles of red food coloring is too much. You only need a couple tablespoons, 3 at most. Anyway, when I watched the video the cake batter did not look nice and fluffy and creamy like mine. Also, the icing is exactly what I use only I cook the milk and flour mixture until it's thicker that what the video showed. The icing in the video also didn't have that nice creamy texture that mine has. It looked grainy and unappealing. I beat the heck out of mine with a Kitchen-aid mixer. Beat it for maybe 10 minutes. It will be fluffy and creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good flavor. It didn't rise as well as I would have liked. I modified the recipe as suggested by other users, replacing the shortening with oil and using 2 cups of sugar. I'll likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have never submitted a review for any recipe and I have been using Allrecipes for years. But this recipe called for a shout out. I made this cake for my son's birthday. I changed it into a 9X13 size, added 4 Tbspns of cocoa (dutch processed), and added 1/2 tspn. of baking powder in addition to the baking soda that is called for. I only did this because I didn't have natural cocoa powder. The color I added didn't show up and it remained a dark brown cake but that didn't really matter in the end. I also didn't increase the sugar as other reviewers have suggested. The cake was plenty sweet. The icing was incredibly easy and fantastic. I will always make this icing on cakes. The cake was out of this world. Every single person commented on how good it was. It was moist and flavorful. I had a professional baker as a guest and even she asked me for the recipe. All credit goes to JJohn! Thanks for making my son's 1st birthday a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States