Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Drama4Ellen
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is SO good! It was super easy and really moist. I didn't use the frosting this recipe included I made a different kind so I can't say for the frosting but the cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is the red velvet cake I grew up with - perfect in every way. Do note though - the frosting is very picky. It does not like heat or humidity. The milk/flour mix must be totally cool before adding to the butter/sugar mixture. Then beat them together like crazy - and I mean CRAZY - I usually beat 8-10 minutes using my Kitchenaid. Be sure to keep the cake in the fridge until serving. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Amazing. I inherited this recipe from my husband's family, and like many others, found it really dry and a bit bland. I was happy to find others with the same opinion and simple solutions. I re-made the cake a week later with this recipe and all loved it. I think we're just not accustomed to the flavor of Crisco (which my original recipe called for instead of the vegetable oil; I used canola oil) in a cake. I liked it with more cocoa (2-3 tbsp) and less red color. Great tweaks to a lovely recipe! Still very puttery but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I only made the icing. It didn't turn out very well. It was runny and didn't look appetizing. I think my mistake was not letting the flour and milk cool enough. I will try it again. I kinda like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very puzzled as to why this cake did not turn out well, but it was a bust. The cake was very dense and lacked flavor, and the frosting was way too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe uses way too much colouring! Made the recipe with changes recommended by other reviewers and I reduced the red colouring. Cake turned out bitter! I'll never make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINCHAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
cant get the icing right :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I was, not at all impressed with this recipe... luckily I made cupcakes so I only ruined the first batch. They were lacking in flavor, and fit the title "red velvet bread" more likely. To the remaining batter I added, a ton more sugar and cocoa, and a bit more vanilla. I used my own recipe for frosting... Confectioner sugar, butter, a splash of milk and half a bar of cream cheese. After the modifications, I was still left unsatisfied the cupcakes had a thick spongy texture... and never quite met my expectations... next time Ill try another recipe I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made this cake for a family friend's party, and as an experienced baker I personally don't recommend using this specific recipe if you're a beginner. For someone who knows very little about baking cakes or never uses anything but a box mix and felt like trying something new, it's very easy to follow the directions to the letter and end up with a mess. I made the following alterations and had excellent results: Added 2 extra tablespoons of cocoa powder, because I like plenty of chocolate. Only used 1 bottle of food dye. Replaced the shortening with vegetable oil for convenience. Used less baking soda and added about 1.5 teaspoons baking powder, as well as removed the vinegar as it wasn't necessary. Also, MIX THE VANILLA IN WITH THE OIL AND SUGAR, NOT THE BUTTERMILK. And finally, the frosting will work fine the way it is as long as the butter and sugar are creamed thoroughly and you beat everything together with an electric mixer (makes it fluffy). I decorated the cake with more cocoa powder and chocolate shaving, but I honestly don't know what the 'traditional' topping is as this is my first time making red velvet cake. Either way, the cake turned out lovely and I'll make it again if requested :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
super moist and very yummy! I increased the amount of cocoa powder to 3 tablespoons. My man loves red velvet and he just about died and went to heaven when he tasted this. It's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinLilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States