Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
The BEST red velvet cake! I made this cake using the substitutions everyone had suggested (3 tbl cocoa powder instead of 2 tbls, 1 oz red food coloring not 2 oz, 1 cup oil for 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups white sugar not 1 1/2 cups, and a tablespoon white vinegar). I did not make the frosting, so I can't rate that, but the cake is amazing! Rich, moist with the perfect combination of vanilla and cocoa as a proper red velvet should. I made this with red, white, and blue fondant for the 4th of July and it was a total hit at the bbq. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Edible, but I wouldn't serve it to anyone. I'm really disappointed with this recipe; the cake turned out too tangy and was falling apart on the plate. My husband said it tasted like play-doh. I won't be making this cake again. However, the icing turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Pretty good. I added 2 EXTRA tablespoons of cocoa for extra flavor. I also added a little extra food coloring to make sure the cocoa didn't turn it too brown. Very dense cake, like red velvet should be, but a little denser than I like it. I also added 1 extra tsp. vanilla. Made 22 cupcakes baked for 18 minutes. I might make it again. Slightly dry and a little too dense, but that may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This cake turned out very light and fluffy, and made beautifully domed cupcakes. I added gold rum and reduced the sugar by about half a cup so that the addition of frosting didn't make them too sweet. I think it would also be nice with whipped cream frosting. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Icing turned out funky but the cake was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Harrah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was the first time I made red velvet from scratch and it was delicious. I didn't have as much food coloring as required probably a little less that half and I was worried but it turned out wonderful. and not a problem at all. You do not need 2 ounces. The taste of chocolate is a little too subtle, so I will add some more next time. The frosting is delicious. I accidentally added 2 cups of sugar, but it still tasted really good. and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Made this cake with some of the recommendations below and it came out great. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This cake was amazing! It was a huge hit with the family!! I used the reviewers' alterations and also added 1/4 tsp. extra of vanilla. Everyone loved it! Definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandilyn0506

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This recipe is a lot of effort for zero reward. This isn't a good cake at all. I followed the directions exactly, except due to the reviews that the cake was bland, I added a little more vanilla extract, and a splash of Franjelica, a sweet hazelnut liquer, and the cake is dry, and very flavorless. I'll stick to my easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 1 or 2 is because my guests ate up the whole cake and my husband loved it. If I went according to my taste though it would not be so good. I really hated it and that's with the changes the others suggested. I will be searching for a different Red Velvet recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States