Red Snapper Livornese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Let me preface my review by saying that i don't eat meat so i didn't actually taste the finished dish. But the sauce was amazing after it simmered. Everyone that ate it though agreed that it was restaurant quality. I made one or two changes. After sauteing the onions and garlic i deglazed with about a half a cup of white whine. I also used the entire can of tomatoes and their liquid. And a extra teaspoon of capers and a pinch more chili flakes. It was ferociously devoured, so FIVE stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe has a fatal flaw. Minimal liquid. There are 2 items that are drained, but the liquid is not reserved. There is a mention of simmer, but no liquid. Baking without liquid is results in dry fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This was phenomenal! Light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great recipe! I agree with another reviewer that maybe snapper wasn't the best fish to blend with this taste, but I'm sure it will be great with another fish. Will definitely be trying it! The sauce didn't have enough liquid to simmer though. Next time I will add all the juice from the can of tomatoes or use fresh tomatoes. However, after baking the fish released plenty of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This dish was fabulous!! I used orange roughy instead of snapper (cooked only for about twelve minutes for two whole fillets), and a can and a half of diced tomatoes instead of canned whole tomatoes. I'm new at this seafood thing, and this was the first time I've ever cooked fish. This recipe was so easy and fast, and my boyfriend and I loved it!! I will absolutely make this again, and again, and again, and...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was very good. I omitted the capers, and shortcut a bit by using 1 14-oz. can diced tomatoes, drained. Also added a little bit of white wine to the simmer. Put all the sauce on top of the fish instead of some on the bottom (had already put the fish in the dish). 15 minutes in the oven was perfect. Good and easy for a nice, weeknight meal. (Served with lemon-spinach couscous and spinach.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This recipe had a good flavor - I made it with red snapper and it seemed fishy. I would make this again with grouper or flounder and I would use a little more of the tomato juice to give it a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
My husband and 3 kids loved this! I used olive tapenade instead of black olives and fresh flounder instead of snapper.I will continue to make it that way. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I used sea bass and my parent's said it tasted better than the sea bass at my own wedding! I substituted fresh tomatoes which I chopped and simmered separately for 10 minutes and I added a little salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This is a super easy and delicious recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States