Red Snapper Livornese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Good, tasty. May need a little more salt. The Snapper came out tough and I may cover it when I cook it next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Let me preface my review by saying that i don't eat meat so i didn't actually taste the finished dish. But the sauce was amazing after it simmered. Everyone that ate it though agreed that it was restaurant quality. I made one or two changes. After sauteing the onions and garlic i deglazed with about a half a cup of white whine. I also used the entire can of tomatoes and their liquid. And a extra teaspoon of capers and a pinch more chili flakes. It was ferociously devoured, so FIVE stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
We liked this. I am cutting calories so I substituted mushrooms for the black olives. I did add the juice of the tomatos as others suggested. My husband wants this again and he isn't big on fish. We loved the garlic flavor but next time I will add more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Wow...what a light and healthy but quite tasty fish recipe. I used tilapia in place of the red snapper. I added the juice from the tomatoes to make more of a sauce, as others had recommended. (Also used the entire can of whole tomatoes, too, roughly chopped.) 400 degrees for 15 minutes was all it took. Excellent recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
DH and I both liked this very much. I am trying to learn to be a fish eater. I used frozen fillets, and just thawed them before using. I used 1 can of chopped tomatoes, drained, and 1/16th tsp red pepper (powder) instead of the crushed red pepper. Only dd refused to eat it, and that was mainly on principle. If I were to try to improve this recipe, I might crush up the tomatoes a bit, and add a bit of the juice, to make it more of a sauce, as opposed to chopped simmered ingredients that sort of sit on top of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Good recipe -- Good sauce. Instead of Red Snapper, I used Tilapia (another white fish that needs "help" to flavor it up!) I liked this recipe better than my hubby, but he isn't particularly fond of white fish either. Anyhow, this sauce was a clever way to get more vegetables into the family. Thanks Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very easy and very tasty. I will make this again. I didn't have any black olives so I substituted sliced mushrooms and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I made this right by the recipe. We thought it was a little to much tomatoes. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I love fish and this is a great recipe. The only changes that I made were to limit fat/calories. I didn't use oil, rather I sauteed in Olive Oil Pam spray and I omitted the olives. Also, I used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead and I use dried herbs. It gave it a nice thick hearty sauce. Very tasty and liked by all who ate it. Served over steamed spinach, it is a healthy and yummy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Thanks Ro! This dish is fantastic! I used sea bass and added a little white wine and it came out perfect. It was my first experience cooking fish and we were very pleased. To those of you who said it needed more salt, try adding kalmata olives-excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States