Red Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I do not like beets but I had a bunch from my CSA that I needed to use and found this recipe. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and chopped up all the produce before boiling. My salad was done in an hour and half. I still do not like beets but this salad was pretty good. I added two hardboiled eggs and chopped raw celery. My church picnic gobbled it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina de Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was fantastic; however, I recommend it be served hot. My family like it best that way, and reheating it made it kind of gross. But, fresh and hot, it is simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Didn't do the mustard but otherwise it was awesome! YUM. i haven't really cooked with beets. So per some research, someone said to boil the beets without having cut them. Don't cut the root leave about one inch of stalk above the beat and boil like that, the skin comes off real easy when done. I boiled the potatoes and carrots as she said but separate from the beets. It is really delicious too bad it doesn't look so pretty. My salad was more pink:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this with the vegetables roasted instead of boiled. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Neither hated it nor loved it. Boiled beets tossed with a little olive oil and salt is a lot less work and we like it a whole lot better. Won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Hi ladies! Thank you for the positive feedback and suggestions! The only reason why I don't chop or peel before hand is because I found the peels retain more of the vegetables flavor. I've done it both ways and just prefer doing it the longer way. I do add salt and a lil more mayo than posted on here. Also a lil salt goes a long way here!! Sorry for forgetting that one important ingredient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. Ponce De Leon, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Really good side dish! The mustard with beets and carrots makes for a nice bitter and sweet combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrcarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
made this when our golden beets, carrots and red new potatoes all came in at the same time in our garden - excellent! what a delicious way to use our bounty! thanks for sharing - we'll be passing this recipe along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
A great way to enjoy beets! I thought this was a little too bland and could have benefited from a zestier sauce. Next time I might do something with horseradish. Like other reviewers, I cut everything up beforehand and reduced cooking time. Saved the broth for tomorrow's soup stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Yours is good, but when in Peru it had peas and tuna in it, so it was a bit more bland your way. Thanks for posting it, I had forgotten all about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States