Red Rooster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Refreshing and good. Not at all too tart. Used unsweetened CJ and i thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Two thumbs up! I had made a frozen version of this many years ago at Thanksgiving, so it was like slushie! Made this as a martini tonight and both my husband and I LOVE it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cortland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This Red Rooster belongs in the stock pot! It **seemed** like such a good idea for our farm party, but it was a dismal failure. I made sure to use plain, 100% cranberry juice -- not Cranberry Cocktail but I think that's what made it bitter and sour. It was unfortunate to see people anticipating a nice, fruity, summery, refreshing drink and then recoil in horror after their first sip! The small quantity of OJ couldn't begin to counteract the astringent tartness of the CJ. I know some reviewers like this contrast but I sure didn't so next time I'd try using Cranberry Cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great drink! I used crushed ice and to make it a little on the fancy side I added a huge slice of orange and a cherry. These go down very easy, a little too easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
YUM! I love how the bitter and sweet neutralize one another in this drink! Goes down a little too easy though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dormeats

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I've made this several times for friends who don't drink beer or wine. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I served in a pitcher liquid style with a block of ice in the center. Therefore the last of it was a bit watered down. Very good. Serve cold and in a cold glass if you can. I had to label it and say it was an adult beverage because kids thought it was Kool Aid! The Martha Stewart scrapbook labels available at Walmart, Michaels, etc. are really cute for labeling pitchers and platters at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
It's an ok drink. I think the ratio of orange juice to cranberry juice needs to be more even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is my new found drink!...So refreshing!...The oj adds a little tart & sweetness to the drink! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
great! i really like the taste. very easy too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lotus Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with vodka, cranberry juice, and exotic lychee liqueur.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States