Red Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very good recipe! I used to live in Charleston, and this was one of my local favorites from the Piggly Wiggly deli. I omitted the bacon, and just sauteed the veggies in a couple tablespoons of bacon grease. I used regular smoked sausage rather than turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Surprisingly great. After reading other reviews, I chose to put all ingredients in a 13x9 pan (after frying up the onions, garlic, sausage, etc) and bake at 375 for 1hr. The consistency of my rice was good, not mushy. I also added a can of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
So easy and delicious. I'd skip the bacon, but the turkey sausage was great. This is a perfect dish to deliver to a friend in need of a home made meal. I'm no cook, so this recipe must be idiot proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Everytime we fix this dish it is perfect & it makes for great leftovers, as there are only 2 of us. Neither of us eat peppers or onions, so we fix ours without them. We tend to use spicy or mild Italian sausage in place of the smoked turkey sausage & bacon. Either way, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was very good; the only problem was my husband ate all the sausage out of the casserole! I think I'll double it the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
My partner eats pork; I don't. This recipe was a very tasty compromise, and was claimed to be excellent by my picky, but pork loving partner. I followed the recipe exactly, with a few exceptions. I left out the fresh green peppers and instead used a couple of tablespoons of freeze-dried green peppers. Diced canned tomatos were used instead of stewed. Also, I doubled up on the turkey bacon. For sausage, I used Grandessa brand Canjun style chicken Andoville (available at Aldi's stores). This was the key to turning this into an incredible meal. It adds lots of spice at an affordable price (I think around $3 for the package). The spagetti sauce (Grandessa's Portebella Mushroom) was a 26 oz. jar and that seemed the perfect amount (I think 14 oz would not be nearly enough). For a side, I just popped open a can of corn, which turned out to be a perfectly bland companion to this spicy dish (a very complimentary "scoop-in" ingredient that breaks up the flavors). Overall, well worth the cook time and definatly a recipe I'll make again. Thanks AutumnJon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Perfect. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
As a Savannah GA native, I was hesitant to try any other red rice recipe but my own. Maybe because I now live in Charleston it added the perfect flavor! hahaha.. Great recipe! Thanks, I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Loved it. I'm from the south and somewhat picky about my red rice, but this was fantastic. Doubled the recipes and kept it in a croc pot for a family gathering. The second time around, I used regular sausage and it was even better, especially as leftovers once the flavors have settled a bit. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I agree with another reviewer that the recipe was not real clear on some points. I am pretty sure you are suppose to use precooked sausage because my uncooked sausage didnt fare so well on the cutting. It was good. I was looking for something with more of a tomato taste. My children liked it because they thought it tasted like pizza/lasagna. I definately suggest not cooking rice until well done. I will try it again but I will try a different sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States