Red Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Sorry to be to the contrary on this recipe..but I am a NATIVE Charlestonian..and my Grandmothers and Great Aunts handed down the recipe through our family (Gaillard)...the red rice "I" have grown to know, love and STILL make...starts with a tomato sauce or paste cooked to a soup and THEN rice is added and cooks and soaks up the liquid...giving a 'dry' rice dish...this was not AUTHENTIC !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Everytime we fix this dish it is perfect & it makes for great leftovers, as there are only 2 of us. Neither of us eat peppers or onions, so we fix ours without them. We tend to use spicy or mild Italian sausage in place of the smoked turkey sausage & bacon. Either way, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Surprisingly great. After reading other reviews, I chose to put all ingredients in a 13x9 pan (after frying up the onions, garlic, sausage, etc) and bake at 375 for 1hr. The consistency of my rice was good, not mushy. I also added a can of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very good recipe! I used to live in Charleston, and this was one of my local favorites from the Piggly Wiggly deli. I omitted the bacon, and just sauteed the veggies in a couple tablespoons of bacon grease. I used regular smoked sausage rather than turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I MADE THIS RICE FRIDAY NIGHT WITH HOPES THAT IT WOULD TASTE LIKE ME GRANDMAS RICE FROM SC. THE FLAVOR WAS AWSOME, BUT MY RICE CAME OUT MUSHY. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO A T. I KNOW MY GRANDMA USED PARBOILED RICE FOR HER RECIPE , AND USED A BROWN PAPER BAG TO DRAW OUT THE MIOSTURE. FLAVOR WAS GREAT, BUT ONCE AGAIN RICE WASH MUSH!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELOVEFOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I don't know what Red Rice and Sausage is supposed to look/taste like, but this was pretty good. Some of the gang didn't care for it, but my son and I really liked it. Dashed a bit of hot sauce on it and it was even better. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
As a Savannah GA native, I was hesitant to try any other red rice recipe but my own. Maybe because I now live in Charleston it added the perfect flavor! hahaha.. Great recipe! Thanks, I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was good, but not outright delicious. I will make it again though. I took the advice of another reviewer and undercooked the rice. It isn't clear what to do with the bacon once it is cooked so I diced it up and added to the rice. I didn't drain the tomatoes and the texture turned out perfectly. I think part of the charm is the crunchy bottom and top with a soft middle. Not spicy at all even though I added several splashes of Tobasco to the tomatoe sausage mixture. Husband had three servings. It makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Hmmm...I was wary of the spaghetti sauce...but the result was good. I think the outcome depends largely on the type of sausage used. And I did not blend the mixture and bake it for an hour. Seemed unnecessary. Instead, I simmered the mixture--without the rice--for a half hour, then I served it over the rice, like red beans and rice. It was yummy. Oh, and I added a nice dose of my favorite hot sauce--Ring 'O Fire! It really gave it a nice, flavorful Louisiana kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
It is good, but not great. I doubled the sausage, (actually 28 oz, since my store sells sausage in 14 oz, not 16 oz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States