Red Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very good recipe! I used to live in Charleston, and this was one of my local favorites from the Piggly Wiggly deli. I omitted the bacon, and just sauteed the veggies in a couple tablespoons of bacon grease. I used regular smoked sausage rather than turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Loved it. I'm from the south and somewhat picky about my red rice, but this was fantastic. Doubled the recipes and kept it in a croc pot for a family gathering. The second time around, I used regular sausage and it was even better, especially as leftovers once the flavors have settled a bit. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Provence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
As a Savannah GA native, I was hesitant to try any other red rice recipe but my own. Maybe because I now live in Charleston it added the perfect flavor! hahaha.. Great recipe! Thanks, I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was good, but not outright delicious. I will make it again though. I took the advice of another reviewer and undercooked the rice. It isn't clear what to do with the bacon once it is cooked so I diced it up and added to the rice. I didn't drain the tomatoes and the texture turned out perfectly. I think part of the charm is the crunchy bottom and top with a soft middle. Not spicy at all even though I added several splashes of Tobasco to the tomatoe sausage mixture. Husband had three servings. It makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Perfect. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
My partner eats pork; I don't. This recipe was a very tasty compromise, and was claimed to be excellent by my picky, but pork loving partner. I followed the recipe exactly, with a few exceptions. I left out the fresh green peppers and instead used a couple of tablespoons of freeze-dried green peppers. Diced canned tomatos were used instead of stewed. Also, I doubled up on the turkey bacon. For sausage, I used Grandessa brand Canjun style chicken Andoville (available at Aldi's stores). This was the key to turning this into an incredible meal. It adds lots of spice at an affordable price (I think around $3 for the package). The spagetti sauce (Grandessa's Portebella Mushroom) was a 26 oz. jar and that seemed the perfect amount (I think 14 oz would not be nearly enough). For a side, I just popped open a can of corn, which turned out to be a perfectly bland companion to this spicy dish (a very complimentary "scoop-in" ingredient that breaks up the flavors). Overall, well worth the cook time and definatly a recipe I'll make again. Thanks AutumnJon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
After I finally got it done, it had a really great taste, and I would probably make it again. However, the recipe needed a little more directions. I wasn't sure if the turkey sausage was raw sausage, or the type that just needed to be heated. I also thought the stewed tomatoes needed to be cut up a little, since I don't like whole chunks of tomato. I would also just partly cook the rice (like 4-5 minutes) and then put it in the casserole, otherwise it gets too mushy. It took a long time to prepare, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was very good; the only problem was my husband ate all the sausage out of the casserole! I think I'll double it the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States