Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was great! We found that the second day that there seemed to be too much milk - I suggest using about 2/3 what it calls for, otherwise it tastes simply like milk with a touch of potatos. Also, we tried it again (with less milk and added spinach and browned ground beef - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was a very tasty soup. Of course using the red potatoes, the soup stayed chunky. I like my soup a bit thicker, so I would have mashed up some of the potaoes to my liking. Great flavor though. I didn't have an onion so I used onion flakes, didn't have celery seeds, but we used celery salt to our liking, and was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I liked the idea of a chicken broth base, which I used after I boiled the potatos in regular water and drained. A combination of milk and half & half was used, and also bit of bacon grease. I used a potato masher and broke up the potatos somewhat in the soup mix. I also used fresh garlic instead of powder; about 2 cloves, added one celery stalk (diced) and 4 green onions (minus the green tops, my family doesn't like onions). I served this with bacon bits and grated cheese on top. This soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was all right. I was a little disappointed in it, actually, but the basic idea is a solid one that I will build upon in the future and try again. The kids liked it and my husbnad liked it well enough but had a lot of suggestions on how it could be improved. We'll have itagain, I'm sure, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I thought this was nice and creamy. Just one complaint the butter congealed at the top of each bowl and in the pot. I tried it with the butter and it was like I was eating butter soup. I ended up painstakingly scooping the butter out and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This soup was good, but the liquid was too runny,and as someone else stated, the butter kept forming at the top. Next time I will try to make a roux and see if it does better! I also Sauted onion, garlic, and celery in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We did not care for this recipe. It was so loaed with celery seed! I do not reccommend anyone making this........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used yellow potatoes instead of red, no celery seed so I used celery salt and added in one chopped stalk of celery. Simple, easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States