Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Way too much celery seed! Start with 1 tsp and build from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
It has way too much celery seed. It is not very thick at all and not overly flavorful. again, will only use 2 tsp celery seed and try to make it thicker by either mashing some of the potatoes, use less liquid, make a roux or add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm giving it 4 stars not because I liked my version of this recipe so much as I like the base of this recipe and think others would find it tasty. To start I made HALF of the batch in this recipe. 4 red potatoes, chopped celery, chopped onion, 1/4 butter, garlic powder to taste, seasoning salt, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Once you add everything and get the potatoes soft I added only two cups of milk. In addition, TO KEEP THE BUTTER FROM SEPARATING, and to help thicken the soup from being so 'juicy/runny' I added about a half cup of flour. It turned out perfect with some shredded mild cheddar cheese on top. Both of my kids (3 and 5 y/o) loved it. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Made tonight added my own twist. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
i added instant mash potatoes too thicken it up came out grate awesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe doesn't even deserve one star! I can usually trust highly rated recipes, but not this time. People - review the recipe posted, not how you had to add this or take out that and then rate your own recipe! I made a mistake and just made the recipe without reading the reviews first, never make that mistake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pozzuto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Yes, less liquid, and added a little flour for thickening. As for floating butter....well, Grandma's potato soup always had floating butter and I think it's kinda pretty! You can stir in the butter with your spoon when you eat it. Hardy cold weather soup. Only four stars because of the boo-boos on liquid amounts, but it's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
As with all soup recipes I use them as a starting point and add or subtract whatever I happen to have on hand. I added celery, frozen corn, frozen peas. Cooked the potatoes in the chicken broth that was left over from my roommate cooking chicken legs. added chopped green pepper and thickened it with a little flour mixed with some cold milk. I didn't add all that milk, either. I used about 1 cup with the thickening process but had about 1 1/2 quarts of broth from cooking the chicken legs. It's a great start ~ then make it your own! Oh - I added crushed red pepper because I like soup with a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this potato soup. I make a smaller portion using about 6 red potatoes and half of the other ingredients. I also use green onion instead of regular onion. If anyone wants their soup thicker, just add about 1 cup of instant potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
WAY TO MILKY!!!! But It Had Good Flavor, So I'm Gonna Work With the Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States