Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Too much dill. Nice base, but flavor was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe is the best potato salad I have made. I have yet to have leftovers after I make this. It is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is THE ONLY potato salad recipe I've found that I like. It's amazing, and everyone I've made it for absolutely raves about it. I've always left out the dill weed because I never have it, but it's delicious without so I just continue to make it that way. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Way too much dill in this recipe. It's a good basic potato salad and I would make it again, but reduce the dill to maybe 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Good basic recipe you can alter a bit if necessary. Once the red potatoes were close to fork tender, I drained in colander & placed in a large bowl (hot potatoes continue to cook a bit). I'm going try roasting potatoes like other submitter suggested next time. To warm potatoes I added a Tsp dehydrated minced onions, 1/2 tsp of celery seed, 1 Tblsp of white balsamic vinegar and S&P. Tossed all together, covered & set aside for potatoes to absorb. Used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/2 C s.crm & 2 eggs as I only had 5 red potatoes. Didn't reduce other ingredients. I mixed all the "wet" ingredients together separately (added a tsp of dill weed & used sweet pickle relish) then folded into the room temp potatoes. Added a tsp of Splenda for a tiny bit of sweet. Immediately store in fridge for at least a couple hours although I make day b4. How AWESOME! Mixed in cooked bacon crumbles right before serving. For anybody who may not realize - don't double dip utensil when tasting for adjustments...saliva will make the potato salad turn runny (I know, gross) but true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This potato salad has great flavor, doesn’t require any peeling, and is low-fat to boot. The only change I made was to use red onion and some extra dill weed. I was looking for a potato salad that was NOT my mom’s potato salad, because I know that I can’t compete with it. She is no longer with me to give her recipe, and I am not a good enough cook to attempt to replicate it without her recipe. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Excellent, and very easy! Had all the ingredients on hand, and customized according to our family's taste. Thanks for teh great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
OMG! Fabulous recipe! I served it with BBQed chicken, and it was awesome! I can't wait to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
What a great find this recipe is! I'm not sure how or why, but it does not taste at all like a low fat version of potato salad; the dressing is creamy and delicious. I used fresh dill because I had some in the fridge, used a few more green onions because I love the onion flavor in potato salad, and liberally salt and peppered. Fabulous recipe, What A Dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Delicious! Used regular sour cream, didn't have celery stalks or onion salt so I used celery salt, used prepared mustard instead of Dijon... Will definitely make again! Even my picky fiance loved it. ***Update- Just made this again today and forgot to add mustard- still had GREAT flavor, not sure which way I like it better!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States