Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I am making this for the second time in less than a month because my husband says he didn't get enough last time I made it. The best potato salad I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! The only thing I changed was I added some crumbled bacon. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogersville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I've been a failure at potato salad numerous times but this recioe worked out very good! Creamy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used fat free sour cream and then about 2-3 tablespoons of red onion instead of green because I forgot to buy some. I dropped the dill weed to 1 teaspoon to be on the safe side and that was "dilly" enough for me. Oh and I didn't have any onion salt, but I can't see how a dash would make any taste difference. I also sliced two extra hard cooked eggs and put them on top for presentation. It was kind of bland in the very beginning before I added salt/pepper. But then once I put in a bunch of salt "to-taste" (the flavor in potatoes and eggs comes out with salt imo) it was great! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Too much dill. Nice base, but flavor was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe is the best potato salad I have made. I have yet to have leftovers after I make this. It is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is THE ONLY potato salad recipe I've found that I like. It's amazing, and everyone I've made it for absolutely raves about it. I've always left out the dill weed because I never have it, but it's delicious without so I just continue to make it that way. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Way too much dill in this recipe. It's a good basic potato salad and I would make it again, but reduce the dill to maybe 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Good basic recipe you can alter a bit if necessary. Once the red potatoes were close to fork tender, I drained in colander & placed in a large bowl (hot potatoes continue to cook a bit). I'm going try roasting potatoes like other submitter suggested next time. To warm potatoes I added a Tsp dehydrated minced onions, 1/2 tsp of celery seed, 1 Tblsp of white balsamic vinegar and S&P. Tossed all together, covered & set aside for potatoes to absorb. Used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/2 C s.crm & 2 eggs as I only had 5 red potatoes. Didn't reduce other ingredients. I mixed all the "wet" ingredients together separately (added a tsp of dill weed & used sweet pickle relish) then folded into the room temp potatoes. Added a tsp of Splenda for a tiny bit of sweet. Immediately store in fridge for at least a couple hours although I make day b4. How AWESOME! Mixed in cooked bacon crumbles right before serving. For anybody who may not realize - don't double dip utensil when tasting for adjustments...saliva will make the potato salad turn runny (I know, gross) but true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This potato salad has great flavor, doesn’t require any peeling, and is low-fat to boot. The only change I made was to use red onion and some extra dill weed. I was looking for a potato salad that was NOT my mom’s potato salad, because I know that I can’t compete with it. She is no longer with me to give her recipe, and I am not a good enough cook to attempt to replicate it without her recipe. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States