Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is Wonderful!!! I have made a lot of variations to potato salads and this one is by far my favorite. I changed things up a bit by adding 3 stalks of celery and omitting the green onion. I also used garlic salt instead of the powder and added 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon. The dill and dill pickle add so much flavor but I did cut down the dill to 1 tsp...it's amazing. I will be keeping this recipe and using it for many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I replaced the sour cream with lowfat yogurt and it was still plenty creamy. Also used fresh dill and left out the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Don't tell, but this is better than my mom's. I really loved the tanginess the sour cream gave. I did have to make a couple of changes because of a lack of ingredients such as some fresh chopped garlic instead of onion and no celery or dill so I used some Spike Veg. I used a bit more than a dash of hot sauce, subbed a generous amount of spicy grainy mustard for the dijon, and used brine from homemade pickles in place of vinegar. I also used Tofutti Sour Supreme and Vegannaise instead of the dairy counterparts. I look forward to making it again when I have all the ingredients to follow the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was outstanding for a potato salad. It was so tasty and creamy. I practically ate the whole bowl myself and I do not like potato salad. I used fat free sour cream and light mayo. The only changes I made was that I added 1/4 cup of finely sliced red onion because I didn't have onion salt. This now replaces my mom's...Sorry ma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
this was my first attempt at potato salad and it turned out excellent. I did use a tip tho that my step-dad gave me to back the potatoes first and then boil them for a few minutes. This makes the texture perfect (double baked its called). Loved the dill flavour, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
made this lastnight to go with our bbq steaks and it was really good. i didn't have celery on hand so i used celery salt. i also used a really good relish instead of the pickle and added bacon. we really enjoyed it. can't wait to try it today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I finally found a potato salad recipe that my daughter likes! I took a couple of suggestions from here and reduced the amount of dill. This was nice and creamy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
SOOOO yummy!! This is as good as any restaurants I have had. I left out the dijon mustard just personal taste, decreased dill to 1 teaspoon as other suggested. I did not have light mayo or sour cream used reg. I will make again and again. This will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Creamy but bland. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great recipe! Very creamy and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States